New Colts structure for 2016

AFL Queensland today announced a new South East Queensland Under 19 Colts structure for the 2016 season.

The new draw will see all 19 teams compete in the same competition.

At the end of the home and away season, teams finishing first to eighth will compete in the division 1 finals, and teams finishing ninth to 14th will play for the division 2 title.

The change came from club feedback at the end of the 2015 season around challenges with colts not being aligned on game day to their senior team, an uneven competition and travel.

It’s hoped that the split at the end of the home and away season will keep competition high throughout the whole season, because 14 of the 19 teams will play finals football.

This new structure has allowed for a 40 per cent increase in alignment of colts and senior teams on match day, teams of similar standard playing against each other, and improved travel.

Teams have been grouped into four regions, and will play those in their group twice.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, labeled the new structure a ‘hybrid draw.’

“This structure gives a lot of flexibility to be able to address most of the issues that clubs have raised with us.  It’s important that we continue to listen to the feedback of our clubs and this change is a result of doing that,” Gibson said.

“When we tabled the hybrid model to clubs it was pleasing to see all of them looking at it from the perspective of what’s best for the game rather than what’s best for their club.

“Whilst the new model doesn’t meet the absolute needs of every clubs, we are confident that it’s a step forward in the right direction, proven by each clubs support.

“With challenges nationally around keeping youth age athletes engaged in competition sport, we need to be a little bold and daring in our approach to how we deliver youth age football to make sure we have that demographic wanting to play our game.”

Draft fixtures will be circulated to clubs on Monday, with the season scheduled to kick off on April 2.

Colts competition at a glance

  • 19 teams
  • Sunshine Coast, Brisbane and Gold Coast based teams
  • 5 new teams in 2016
  • 16 home and away
  • 2 division finals series

Colts club guide

Alexandra Hills*
Mt Gravatt
Palm Beach Currumbin
Sunshine Coast South*
University of Queensland
Western Magpies*
Wilston Grange

*Denotes new teams in 2016

By Andrew Wiles

Our Supporters