16 Queenslanders named in extended Allies Squad

By AFLQ Media

The AFL has today announced the extended squad of 50 players for the 2019 NAB AFL National Academy Allies that will compete at the NAB Under-18 National Championships later this year.

Eight players from the Gold Coast SUNS Academy along with another eight from the Brisbane Lions Academy have made the Allies team comprising of footballers from New South Wales, the ACT, Northern Territory, Queensland and Tasmania.

Following the departure of coach Adrian Fletcher, the Allies team in 2019 will be coached by premiership player and current AFL Academy Manager Luke Power.

AFL Queensland Talent and Academies Manager, Mark Browning, was pleased by the 2019 squad announcement.

“A fantastic result for all boys selected,” Mr Browning said.

“The next challenge will be to play well in the trial games against VIC Country and Metro at the Allies Camp in Melbourne later this month.

“Based on performance hopefully a number of the 16 selected will get to represent the Allies in one of four games in Division One of the NAB National Championships.”

The squad of 50 players combines 30 players from the initial squad named in October last year with an additional 20 players selected based on recent form and fitness. The combined squad will play in practice matches against Victoria Country and Victoria Metro.

From there, the squad will represent the Allies at the NAB Under 18 National Championships later in the year.


2019 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships
Queensland players in 50-man Allies squad

Gold Coast SUNS Academy
Paul-Oea Hewago (PNG/Broadbeach)
Connor Buderick (Labrador)
Ashton Crossley (Burleigh/Palm Beach Currumbin)
Alex Davies (Cairns Hawks)
Jack Johnston (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Matt Conroy (Hermit Park Townsville/Broadbeach)
Joshua Gore (Southport/Broadbeach)
Dirk Koenan (Palm Beach Currumbin)

Brisbane Lions Academy
Tom Griffiths (Maroochydore)
Will Martyn (Aspley)
Bruce Reville (Western Magpies/Maryborough)
Saxon Crozier (Wests)
Samson Ryan (Toowoomba)
Kobe Tozer (Aspley/Bribie Island)
Noah Cumberland (Maroochydore)
Nikolas Haberer (Sandgate/Caloundra)

2019 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships Draw

Round 1

Western Australia v VIC Metro
WAFL Venue
Saturday 8 June, 10.00am

Allies v VIC Country 
Sunday 9 June, 1.30pm

BYE- South Australia

Round 2

West Australia v South Australia 
Optus Stadium
Saturday 15 June, 11.00am

VIC Metro v VIC Country
Saturday 1 June, 11.20am

BYE- Allies

Round 3

Allies v South Australia
Alberton Oval
Saturday 22 June, 10.45am

South Australia v VIC Metro
Alberton Oval
Saturday 22 June, 1.10pm

BYE- VIC Country

Round 4

VIC Metro v Allies
GMHBA Stadium
Friday 28 June, 2.10pm

VIC Country v South Australia 
GMHBA Stadium
Friday 28 June, 4.40pm

BYE- Western Australia

Round 5

VIC Country v Western Australia
Marvel Stadium
Wednesday 3 July, 2.10pm

South Australia v Allies
Marvel Stadium
Wednesday 3 July, 4.40pm

BYE- VIC Metro


Our Supporters