Southport star Danny Wise has taken the outright lead in the voting for the Syd Guildford Trophy.

Tuesday 6 July 2010

Southport skipper Danny Wise’s remarkable run of form continued on Saturday and the one-time Magarey Medal placegetter now has the outright lead in the Syd Guildford Trophy.

Wise polled high votes for the fifth week in succession to finally break a deadlock with NT Thunder star Cameron Ilett and move four votes clear.

The 28-year-old collected possessions at will at Broadbeach on Saturday and was only pipped for the best afield vote by an 11-goal performance by full-forward Cleve Hughes.

With six rounds remaining, Wise is essentially three games worth of votes clear of third placed Jacob Gough and will take a power of stopping, particularly in his current form.

Ilett was solid but not spectacular in the Thunder’s loss to Redland and will look to hit back when he takes on the powerful Morningside midfield at TIO Stadium on Saturday night in what continues to be a two-man war with Wise.

Wise faces a match-up with the strong Labrador midfield that is still hurting after being smacked out of left-field by Mt Gravatt last weekend.

Aspley midfielder Jamie Sheahan was the other big mover of the weekend, his top votes against the Western Magpies taking into equal sixth position, just three votes behind Gough.

Mt Gravatt’s WA recruit Dean Page moved into equal eighth spot –the highest placed Vulture – after attracting four votes in his side’s big win at Labrador.

Rd 12 Votes:

Southport v Broadbeach

5 Votes Cleve Hughes  Southport
4 Votes Danny Wise  Southport
3 Votes Kurt Niklaus  Southport
2 Votes Adam Devine  Southport
1 Vote Darren Pfeiffer  Southport

Western Magpies v Aspley

5 Votes Jamie Sheahan  Aspley
4 Votes Reece Toye  Aspley
3 Votes Robert Copeland  Aspley
2 Votes James Nelis  Aspley
1 Vote James Rozynski  Magpies

NT Thunder v Redland

5 Votes Scott Clouston  Redland
4 Votes Brett Goodes  Thunder
3 Votes Jamie Hackett  Redland
2 Votes James Charlesworth  Redland
1 Vote Jake Dignan  Thunder

Labrador v Mt Gravatt

5 Votes Ash Evans  Mt Gravatt
4 Votes Dean Page  Mt Gravatt
3 Votes Nathan Gilliland  Mt Gravatt
2 Votes Michael Schultz  Mt Gravatt
1 Vote Aiden Pratt  Mt Gravatt

Morningside v Brisbane Lions Reserves 

5 Votes Damien Bonney  Morningside
4 Votes Aaron Rogers  Morningside
3 Votes Tyson Upton  Morningside
2 Votes Nathan Kinch  Morningside
1 Vote Ryan Holman  Morningside

Rd 12 Leaders:

31: Danny Wise (Southport)
27: Cameron Ilett (NT Thunder)
19: Jacob Gough (Morningside)
18: Matt Shir (Aspley)
18: Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach)
16: Darren Pfeiffer (Southport)
16: Jamie Sheahan (Aspley)
14: Shane Paterson (Labrador)
14: Mat Clarke (Labrador)
14: Dean Page (Mt Gravatt)

Our Supporters