Umpires celebrate in Townsville

The AFL Townsville Umpires Association recently held their gala awards presentation evening to recognise achievements and celebrate the success of local umpires in 2012.

A record number of local umpires were privileged to be joined by Townsville Mayor Jenny Hill (pictured) and her husband Shane as well as some major sponsors on the night, held at the Townsville RSL.

The Mayor played in a special part in the night as the 2012 umpiring trophies were courtesy of a generous grant from the Mayor’s Community Assistance Fund.

A number of awards were given out to both junior and senior umpires recognising talent and commitment to umpiring throughout 2012.

Judges couldn’t separate Michelle Slater, Kimberley Drew and Ryan Powell won were the joint winners of the Best First Year Umpire award.

Tom Newsham was recognised at the umpire of the year, while Shane Powell, Darren Abercrombie and Cameron Moore were award best boundary, goal and field umpire respectively.

The Golden Whistle, awarded to the umpire showing the most promise went to Matthew Wheelahan.

He was also judged to be the best junior umpire in 2012.

Further encouragement awards were handed out on the night and Edwin Brown was given a special award, celebrating his 300th senior game as an umpire.

Organisers expressed optimism in the direction of AFL umpiring in Townsville, paying tribute to the large number of families involved across both junior and senior divisions.

They said the night was a huge success for all of the umpires, sponsors and supporters that attended.

Full list of award winners:

Cool Sports Team Umpire of the Year – Tom Newsham

Farcup award – Brett Sprunt (for leaving his dog at training and going home alone)

Best First Year Umpire – Michelle Slater, Kimberley Drew and Ryan Powell

Most Improved – Joe Newsham

Best Junior – Matthew Wheelahan

Best Boundary Umpire – Shane Powell

Best Goal Umpire – Darren Abercrombie

Best Field Umpire – Cameron Moore

Doug Pearce Club Person of the Year – Peter James

Golden Whistle – Matthew Wheelahan 

Encouragement Awards – Kiah Gray, Jarrod Brice, Matthew Chillcot, Darcy Gray, Clarissa Krenz  

300 Senior Games Award – Edwin Brown

A number of level 1 and level 2 umpiring accreditation certificates were also handed out on the night.

Our Supporters