Tuesday Talking Points

International happenings 

Even though here in Queensland finals footy is squarely on the agenda, there’s plenty more going on outside Australia’s shores.

Thanks to AFL Vanuatu and the work of Program Leader Nancy Patterson, a weekly disability inclusion program has been established at Fresh Wota School in Port Vila, in conjunction with VASANOC (the Vanuatu Olympic committee).

The teachers at the school are ecstatic with the results so far, in the first ‘outside class’ these children have experienced. There has been a noted improvement in the children’s self-esteem, motor skills and school work.

Meanwhile in Fiji, the city of Nadi is set to host West Fiji’s first ever senior AFL match. The game has been set up with the help of AFL Fiji, the Fiji National Sports Commission and Australian Aid.



Silver Fox finishes up after 116 AFL games

AFL boundary umpire and Queenslander, Nick Wade, also fondly referred to as the ‘Silver Fox’ has recently retired from umpiring. Wade started umpiring in 2000 and after making his AFL debut in 2012, he retires as the oldest boundary umpire on the AFL list, at 45 – and likely the only one with a PhD in Zoology.


Nick Wade (holding the football)

Nick Wade (holding the football)


Winners are grinners

Grand final celebrations were kicking into gear at Yeronga on Saturday, as Broadbeach, Bond University and Yeronga South Brisbane took out the QWFA Division 2, Division 1 and QWAFL premierships respectively. Some fantastic photographers were on hand to catch all the best moments. Here are our favorites:


Selina Rioli Puruntatameri

Selina Rioli Puruntatameri

Kate Reynolds

Kate Reynolds


Photo credits:

Broadbeach – Brooke Sleep

Yeronga/Bond – AFL photographer Jason O’Brien


Junior champs

The Brisbane Junior competitions wound up last night at the Brisbane Junior Gala Awards, where Miller Rose won the O’Callaghan Medal, for the most votes polled in any Brisbane Juniors division. Alongside Rose, the best and fairest medal winners were announced, in all divisions from under 12s to under 17s. Full list of awardees below:


2017 Medal Winners:

Under 12 Division 1                               Coorparoo                                 Elijah Glass

Under 12 Division 2                               Sherwood                                  Tom Morgan
Under 12 Division 3                               Narangba                                   Carter Simpson

Under 12 Division 4                               North Lakes                               Ben Miller

Under 12 Division 5                               Rochedale                                  Wyatt Greenaway

Under 13 Girls Division 1                       Narangba                                   Jessica Day

Under 13 Girls Division 2                       Forest Lake                               Tahney Williams

Under 14 Division 1                               Morningside                              Jordan Hamilton

Under 14 Division 2                               Redland                                     Miller Rose

Under 14 Division 3                               Wilston Grange                          Solofa Lemusu

Under 14 Division 4                               Zillmere                                    Joel Yorston

Under 14 Division 5                               Springwood                               Ryan Perrins

Under 15 Girls Division 1                       Park Ridge                                Monet Broughton-Ferris

Under 15 Girls Division 2                       Beenleigh                                  Saige Burnham

Under 16 Division 1                               Aspley                                      Adrian Lawrence

Under 16 Division 2                               Calamvale                                 Matthew Tsimpikas

Under 16 Division 3                               Zillmere                                    Callum Brooks

Under 16 Division 4                               Beenleigh                                  Cooper Anderson

Under 17 Girls                                       Coorparoo                                 Tahlia Hickie



Menzies has merit

Deion Menzies, currently a Brisbane Juniors advisory board member and unofficial footy photographer, last night won an AFL Merit Award at the Brisbane Junior Gala Awards Night. The award is only given to volunteers who have contributed significantly to Australian Football in a number of roles, for a period of over 10 years. It’s an amazing achievement. Here’s a list of the contributions Deion has made to footy in Queensland:

  • Played Junior Football at Morningside
  • Played Senior Football at Yeronga
  • Senior Coach Alexandra Hills and Redland
  • Junior Coach at Alexandra Hills 2003 – 2009
  • President of Alexandra Hills JAFC 2008 – 2009
  • AFL Brisbane Juniors Board Member 2010 – 2011
  • Queensland Women’s Assistant Coach –  2011
  • Queensland Youth Girls Head Coach 2012 – 2013
  • Queensland Volunteer of the Year – 2013
  • AFL Brisbane Juniors President 2012 – 2016
  • Brisbane Juniors Advisory Board Member 2017



Deion Menzies

Deion Menzies (right)


Howarth tipped to fly high in AFLW Draft  

Exciting young Queensland talent Kalinda Howarth was recently named as one of the county’s best AFLW prospects in a Fox Footy AFLW ‘Phantom Draft.’ As one of only eight players mentioned, Howarth’s ground skills and ability in the air have made her standout on a national level.


By Sean Melrose




Our Supporters