Teams announced ahead of NQ v SQ Rep Intrastate Clash

All roads lead to Cairns this Saturday for the seventh instalment of the annual senior men’s North Queensland (NQ) versus South Queensland (SQ) Intrastate Clash.

Both coaches have announced their final teams, with a plethora of new faces set to pull on their respective representative jumpers for the first time.

The game is the curtain raiser to the Round 13 Toyota AFL Premiership match between St Kilda and Adelaide Crows at Cazaly’s Stadium.

NQ and SQ both look vastly different to when the two teams last met in Townsville in 2019, with only three players returning for SQ and four for NQ.

After serving as Vice Captain in 2019, Springwood veteran Rowan Page has been elevated into the captaincy this year, while Sean Connelly from Cairns City Lions will skipper the home team.

Debutant NQ coach, Aaron Davey, has pulled together a team that is headlined by former Essendon listed player Jake Long. Representing NQ for the first time and in red hot form for their local clubs, Luke Morgan and Robert Turnbull will be key players for the Northerners, as they look to arrest a four year losing streak.

Returning SQ coach Danny Craven, who is vying for his fifth consecutive win, has some exciting young talent at his disposal, with the likes of Jia Kenneally, Benjamin Lynch and Zac Quinn getting their first turn in the red and blue.

The match kicks off at 4.20pm and will be streamed live via

Jack James – Beenleigh
Callum Eddy – Beenleigh
Sean Goode – Beenleigh
Joshua Keleher – Caloundra
Luca Mason – Caloundra
Jacob Watson – Caloundra
Benjamin Lynch – Coorparoo
Jack Coghlan – Mayne
Ryan Eyles – Mayne
Cameron Perkins – Mayne
Zac Quinn – Mayne
Daniel Schmidt – Mayne
Jai Kennealy – Springwood
Rowan Page – Springwood (Captain)
Jordan Williams – University of Queensland
Zachary Templeton – Kenmore
Jacob Knight – Hinterland
Jaiden Patching – Redcliffe
Matthew Schlein – Bay Power
Damian McRae – Across the Waves Bundaberg
Jayden Smith – Coolaroo
Johnathon Leidig – South Toowoomba
Bradley Kimberley – Caloundra (Travelling Emergency/Runner)

Non-Travelling Emergencies
Shayle Korander-Matheson – Coorparoo
Dominic Killworth – Hinterland

Coaching and Support Staff
Danny Craven – Head Coach
Rory Lake – Asst Coach –– Coorparoo
Josh Duffy – Asst Coach –– Mayne
Rhan Hooper – Asst Coach –– Springwood
Leigh Harding – Program Manager – AFL Qld
Mark Mason – Team Manager – Wide Bay
John Balm – Trainer – Springwood

Anthony Stewart – North Cairns
Jake Long – City Lions
Nick Johnson – City Lions
Robert Turnbull – City Lions
Sean Connelly – City Lions (Captain)
Branden Deslandes – City Lions
Wes Glass – Cairns Saints
Joshua Lea – Port Douglas
Joshua Mawson – Port Douglas
Daniel Davidson – Port Douglas
Christian Burgess – Yeppoon
Jamie Garner – Yeppoon
Elia Ware – Manunda
Ezekiel Frank – Manunda
Josh Gall – Manunda
Callaway Parker – Hermit Park
Joel Newman – Thuringowa
Benjamin Barba – Eastern Swans
Jordan Cullen – Mackay Magpies
Lachie Rhook – South Cairns
Luke Morgan – Centrals Trinity
Nicholas Thacker – Centrals Trinity
Oliver Ritchie – Cairns Saints (Emergency / Runner)

Coaching and Support Staff
Aaron Davey – Head Coach – City Lions
Wes Glass – Asst Coach – Cairns Saints
Darren Lange – Asst Coach – Thuringowa
Aaron Flint – City Lions
Craig Lees – Program & Team Manager – AFL Cairns
John Durkin – NQ Ambassador – Townsville

Our Supporters