Strong Qld contingent in Lions AFLW squad

Queensland’s AFL Women’s competition continues to be a major source of talent for the Brisbane Lions, with 17 former QAFLW players part of the first batch of 19 Lions locked in for NAB AFLW season eight in 2023.

All 17 were on the Lions list in 2022 and will be part of the squad looking to rebound from the club’s NAB AFLW Grand Final loss last year, when the 2023 campaign kicks off later this year.

University of Queensland and Maroochydore Roos lead the way with four players from each club represented, including captain Bre Koenen (Magnetic Island Magpies juniors), Nat Grider, Dakota Davidson, and foundation player Sharni Webb from UQ. Representing the Roos is Lily Postlethwaite, rookies Bella Smith and Kiara Hillier and Shannon Campbell who also played for Wilston Grange alongside Cathy Svarc.

Rookies Ella Smith and Charlotte Mullins are flying the flag for the Aspley Hornets while Dee Heslop and Zimmorlei Farquharson fly it for Yeronga.

Bond University duo Taylor Smith and Mikayla Pauga are also back on board for 2023 alongside Coorparoo’s Jade Ellenger and Tahlia Hickie.

Reigning AFLW competition Best-and-Fairest Ally Anderson from Zillmere headlines the group once again as they look to bounce back from last year’s grand final loss to Melbourne.

The Lions won the premiership in 2021 and have been one of the most successful teams in the AFLW competition’s short history, with a feature of the squad over the journey being strong representation from born-and-bred Queenslanders.

The Lions are expected to announce more player signings over the next week.

Queenslanders on the Brisbane Lions AFLW list in 2023:

  • Bre Koenen – Magnetic Island Magpies/UQ
  • Dakota Davidson – UQ
  • Nat Grider – UQ
  • Sharni Webb – UQ
  • Ally Anderson – Zillmere
  • Cathy Svarc – Wilston Grange
  • Shannon Campbell – Wilston Grange/Maroochydore
  • Kiara Hillier – Maroochydore
  • Lily Postlethwaite – Maroochydore
  • Bella Smith – Maroochydore
  • Jade Ellenger – Coorparoo
  • Tahlia Hickie – Coorparoo
  • Mikayla Pauga – Bond
  • Taylor Smith – Bond
  • Dee Heslop – Yeronga
  • Zimmorlei Farquharson – Yeronga
  • Charlotte Mullins – Aspley
  • Ella Smith – Aspley
  • Orla O’Dwyer – 2019 rookie selection/former Gaelic footballer)
  • Jennifer Dunn – Irish recruit

Our Supporters