SEQ Umpire Academy squads named

AFL Queensland has named the 2015 South East Queensland Umpire Academy Squads.

The Academy was relaunched in 2014 as a state based field umpire program.

“Queensland State Umpire Manager Gary Fila said the success of the program after just one year has been outstanding with four members debuting in the QAFL seniors in 2014.

“The success has been so much so that the program has been expanded in 2015 to include an Academy boundary and goal program across South East Queensland with the aim to again expand this again in 2016 to a state based program,” said Fila.

Fila said this is the first time in 23 years that there has been a talent pathway program for regional QLD umpires.

“The program started off with just one coach and a couple of mentors to now having seven coaches and 45 umpire involved in the program across the state with a number of senior NEAFL and QAFL umpires assisting in mentoring roles,” he said.

“The Academy Coaches and mentors have done an amazing amount of work with each of these umpires and they are very proud and excited for what lays ahead for them all.”

With the South East Queensland squad named, the umpiring department has now turned the attention to the Regional field trial process, with a squad to be named in the near future.

South East Queensland Umpire Academy Squad

SEQ Field

Andrew Adair
Ryan Bailey
Nathan Bellina
Mitchell Blashak
Jeanluc Ennis
Isaac Farrell
Ash Gardner
Nathan Griffin
Zac Howarth
Chris Jardine
Liam Kermode
Alexander Laube
Kegan Moseley
Toby Pilgrim
Riley Polak
Sam Schiphorst
Sam Somerville
Tim Somerville
Cameron Valenti

SEQ Boundary

Adam Dance
Alex Donoghue
Kurt Frampton
Courtney Gibson
Kyle Hoysted
Beau Leach
Jackson Leach
Jack Linton
Troy Matthews
Sean McArdle
Braden O’Hehir-Fleming
Luke Spanner
Beau Traill


SEQ Goal

Bridget Saftenberger
Steph Clay
Matthew Bridges
Belinda Stewart
Edward Cooper
Zach Mabb
Jessica Gibson
Kate Lushington
Cameron Horrocks
Ben Pearson
Christopher Smith

Our Supporters