Thursday 17 March 2011

The quest for the magical 100-goal season will be difficult for the leading forwards again in 2011 with the strength of the new NEAFL competition making for few ‘easy’ games.

It is going on for five years since a key forward booted 100 goals in the qualifying rounds of a QAFL season, with Broadbeach star Korey Fulton last achieving the feat in 2006.

Southport’s Ben McEntee kicked exactly 100 goals a year later, but the milestone was achieved late on grand final day.

The Sharks’ latest goalkicking ace Cleve Hughes appeared to be on target for the three figures last year before being hobbled by an ankle injury.

Hughes, Broadbeach’s Jason Eagle and NT Thunder ace Darren Ewing start as the top three favourites to win the Ray Hughson Medal for the leading goalkicker in the NEAFL northern division in 2011.

The leading goalkickers in the last decade have been supplied by just five clubs – Southport (5), Broadbeach (2), Mt Gravatt (1), Thunder (1) and Redland (1).

Interestingly, Morningside have won four premierships in that period without an individual winning the Hughson Medal, although Kent Abey has regularly kicked 50 goals in a season.

The 1970s were the most productive decade for the goalkickers, with the century of goals being reached seven times in eight years from 1969 to 1976.

Steve Taylor from Wilston-Grange achieved the feat four years in succession and then Morningside’s Gary Jones blasted 380 goals from 1974 to 1976.    

Our Supporters