QWFA Division 1 Fixture Released 


As part of International Women’s Day celebrations, AFL Queensland today released the Queensland Women’s Football Association (QWFA) Division 1 fixture.

The eleven team competition, comprising Aspley, Bond University, Burleigh, Coolangatta, Coorparoo, Jindalee, Maroochydore, Moreton Bay, University of Queensland, Yeronga and Wilston Grange, will underpin the QWAFL.

The competition promises to be highly competitive, with players on QWAFL lists who don’t make weekly selection playing for a QWFA Division 1 team.

AFL Queensland Women’s Competition Manager, Fiona Jones, said the new look competition will provide a competitive environment for those aspiring to the QWAFL and beyond.

‘’The Division 1 competition is designed for players, clubs and officials aiming to be part of a high performance and elite environment,” said Jones.

“There’s been enormous growth in the women’s space and it is exciting that we are able to introduce another level of competition to support that.

“We are going from what was previously QWAFA, into a Division 1 and 2 model.”

The season kicks off on April 1 and features 13 double headers, eight triple headers and seven quadruple headers throughout the season, with the Grand Final to be held on the weekend of August 26/27.


Our Supporters