Women’s Grand Final Day

Queensland’s best female footballers will battle it out for premiership honours in a grand final triple header at Leyshon Park Yeronga, today Sunday August 27.

Broadbeach and Kedron open the day in the QWFA Division 2 decider at 10:45am, Bond University take on Yeronga-South Brisbane in QWFA Division 1 at 1:00pm and Coorparoo face Yeronga-South Brisbane in the Bond University QWAFL at 3:15pm.

The Bond University QWAFL Grand Final will be a treat for AFLW fans, with up to ten members of the 2017 Brisbane Lions team – including six All-Australians – tipped to play.

Coorparoo Kings boast current Lions Captain Emma Zielke, Brittany Gibson, Jessica Wuetschner, Ally Anderson and Kate Deegan, while the Yeronga-South Brisbane Devils line-up includes Sam Virgo, Emily Bates, Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Kate McCarthy and Jade Ransfield.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, said the first all-women’s grand final day was an historic occasion.

“The growth and standing of women’s footy has commanded an occasion where our female participants are the showpiece,” said Mr. Gibson.

“We are extremely fortunate to have so many of our Lions AFLW players in action in the Bond University QWAFL game.”


Sunday, August 27
Oval 1, Leyshon Park, Cansdale St, Yeronga

9:30am     Gates Open

10.45am  QWFA Division 2:                              Broadbeach vs. Kedron

1:00pm   QWFA Division 1:                               Bond University vs. Yeronga-South Brisbane

3:15pm   Bond University QWAFL:                 Coorparoo vs. Yeronga-South Brisbane


Adults                                $6
Concession                         $4
Children under 16             FREE   

Please note that patrons are advised to use public transport or seek parking in the surrounding streets and allow time to walk to the venue.

Strictly no alcohol is to be taken into the premises. Canteens and a licensed bar will operate with all proceeds going back into supporting community football clubs.

The Bond University QWAFL match will be live streamed via www.aflq-new.fspdev.com

Our Supporters