Queenslanders make Boomerangs and World Team squads

The AFL today announced the final Flying Boomerangs and World Team squads that will head to the Gold Coast come July, for the 2017 NAB AFL Under 16 Championships. The list of players includes five from Queensland, one in the Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs squad and four in the World Team squad.

Lining up for the Boomerings will be Kevin Canendo, while Alex Davies, Josh Blair, Marcell Hawash and Clay Daley will play for the World Team.

AFL club recruiters made the selections based on criteria that included school attendance, leadership skills and football ability, shortly after the 2017 Diversity Championships.

Andrew Dillon, AFL General Manager Game Development, spoke about how the Boomerangs and World Team programs were a great opportunity for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Multicultural talent to develop on and off the field.

“Over the past few years we have seen the Diversity Championships grow into a genuine elite talent pathway and we look forward to witnessing the next stage of development for these players, coaches and umpires,” said Dillon.


Team lists:

2017 Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs squad:
Kevin Canendo (QLD), Kynan Kenny (SA), Aiden Holland (SA), Callum Saunders (SA), Sage Tapner (VIC), Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (VIC), Wil Dwyer (VIC), Deekyn Smith (VIC), Kobi George (VIC), Joel Jeffery (NT), Brodie Lake (NT), Tyrrell Lui (NT), Anthony Rose (NT), Clarence Baird (NT), Roy George (WA), Tyreese Bynder (WA), Jordon Kickett (WA), Zek Bolton (WA), Michael Mallard (WA), Isiah Winder (WA), Reece Gerrand (WA), Ira Jetta (WA), Tyler Brockman (WA), Wesley Clarke (NSW/ACT), David Wyman (NSW/ACT).

2017 World Team squad:
Alex Davies (QLD), Josh Blair (QLD), Marcell Hawash (QLD), Clay Daley (QLD), William Hayley (TAS), Jayden Applebee (TAS), Oliver Burrows-Cheng (TAS), Ajay Hem (SA), Diing Akur (SA), George Heintze (SA), Lam Simon (SA), Ruben Carreno (SA), Nixzon Santillo (SA), Siddarth Rajesh (VIC), Regan Uwandu (VIC), Compton Fiafua (VIC), Joey Keam (VIC), Chris Walker (WA), Brendan Walker (WA), Manfred Pati (WA), Joel Western (WA), Keanu Haddow (WA), Timothy Organ (NSW/ACT), Jamie Murphy (NSW/ACT), James Rene (NSW/ACT).


By Sean Melrose

Our Supporters