Queensland Under-17 team named for Tasmania showdown

By Ant Wingard

AFL Queensland is pleased to announce the Under-17 squad that will travel to Melbourne next weekend for the Futures Series matchup against Tasmania.

The Queensland side will play against the Apple Isle’s team on July 2 at Arden Street, the home of North Melbourne, before returning to Queensland to face NSW/ACT at Fankhauser Reserve on July 9.

Following the announcement of the representative squad on June 1, the team have been training together at Leyshon Park ahead of their representative series which will conclude with a game against Victoria Metro at Ikon Park on August 12.

Gold Coast Academy head coach, Andrew Raines, and Brisbane Lions Academy head coach, Josh Hunt will share the coaching duties throughout the three matches.

The purpose of the u17 games is to for Queensland talent to push for selection for the futures game of the best u17 talent from around Australia played as a curtain-raiser to the AFL Grand Final at the MCG.

The team that will travel to Melbourne next weekend includes players from the Brisbane, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast and North Queensland regions.

Palm Beach Currumbin are the most well represented club within the team, making up 21 per cent of the total squad with five selections.

Morningside, Maroochydore, Southport and the Western Magpies all have two representatives in the team.

Queensland Under-17 Representative Team:


Sean Ryan Western Magpies
Jack Mosely Mt Gravatt Vultures
Will Martyn  Aspley
Gracen Sproule  Wilston Grange
Thomas Jeffrey  Morningside
Samson Bulter  Maroochydore
Nickolas Haberer  Caloundra
Joshua Hammond Morningside
Thomas Wischnat Maroochydore
Samson Ryan Western Magpies
Riley Buckland Palm Beach Currumbin
Hawego Paul Oea Broadbeach
Corey Joyce Palm Beach Currumbin
Jack Wingrave Palm Beach Currumbin
Coby Williams Palm Beach Currumbin
Joshua Gore Southport
Matthew Fraser Southport Sharks
Matthew Conroy Gold Coast Suns Academy
Ashston Crossley Palm Beach Currumbin
Billy Birch Labrador
Daniel Davidson Port Douglas
Brandon Deslandes Cairns City Lions
Max Newman Northern Beaches Suns


Our Supporters