Queensland trio in state Draft Combine

Three more Queenslanders will be under the AFL recruiters’ microscope ahead of the National Draft, with state Draft Combine invitees announced today.

Queensland U18 team members, Robert Blood (Southport) and Will Kristelly (Maroochydore) were selected after they showed potential in the back end of the representative season.

Blood had a standout game for the Gold Coast SUNS reserves in the NEAFL earlier this season, and rebounded from a quiet mid-season, showing plenty of improvement on the wing for Queensland.

Kristelly is a raw talent, but has battled manfully for Queensland in the ruck, creating a formidable pairing with Brayden Preuss, who was selected for the national combine last week.

Redland ruckman Paul Hunter has caught the eye of scouts with his impressive season in the NEAFL.

Hunter earned a rising star nomination for his Rd 13 performance for the Bombers against the SUNS reserves, and continues to show improvement for his side.

These three join the seven Queenslanders invited to the National AFL combine, which was announced last week.

In a slightly different process to previous years , clubs were asked to provide a list of 50 players they would like to see at the national combines, and then a further 25 for the state screenings to be held in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth.

Players needed a minimum of two nominations to be selected for the state combines.

Queensland’s representatives will head to Melbourne for a day of testing on October 4.



Robert Blood   Southport

Paul Hunter   Redlands

Will Kristelly   Brisbane Lions Academy


Liam Griffiths   Ainslie

Jordan Foote   UNSW-Easts


Marcus Hamilton   Big River Hawks


Sam Baulderstone   Norwood

Mac Bower   Norwood

Henry Carey   Sturt

Brad Coulson   Port Adelaide

Ben Edwards   Glenelg

Adam Gulden   South Adelaide

Josh Hone   Sturt

Jake Johansen   Port Adelaide

Conor McLean   Central Districts

Matt Panos   Norwood

Zac Richards   Norwood

Peter Spurling   Glenelg

Brett Turner   West Adelaide

Jesse Watchman   West Adelaide

Callum Wilkie   North Adelaide


Matt Hanson   Western Storm

Caleb Hislop   Burnie

Tim Jones   Western Storm

Mitch Rainbird   Glenorchy

Josh Watts   Glenorchy


Daniel Coghlan   Essendon VFL

Michael Hartley   Coburg

Jack Johnstone   Williamstown

Adam Marcon   Williamstown

Nick Newman   Frankston

Jake Owen   Williamstown

Adam Saad   Coburg

Sam Tagliabue   Essendon VFL

Shannon Taylor   Frankston


Sam Bennett   North Ballarat Rebels

Dale Bailey   Dandenong Stingrays

Daniel Davie   Bendigo Pioneers

Nick Dixon   Geelong Falcons

Billy Evans   Bendigo Pioneers

Campbell Floyd   Geelong Falcons

Dylan Hodge   Geelong Falcons

Harrison Kol   Geelong Falcons

Joe Maishman   Geelong Falcons

Oscar McDonald   North Ballarat Rebels

Nick Mellington   Murray Bushrangers

David Mennen   Murray Bushrangers

Teia Miles   Geelong Falcons

Jesse Palmer   North Ballarat Rebels

Tom Templeton   North Ballarat Rebels

Aaron Wilson   Dandenong Stingrays


Ben Allan   Calder Cannons

Hugh Beasley   Oakleigh Chargers

Will Fordham   Sandringham Dragons

Jayden Foster   Calder Cannons

Taylor Grace   Sandringham Dragons

Matt Jackson   Oakleigh Chargers

Bailey Jordan   Northern Knights

Mark Kovacevic   Calder Cannons

Michael Manteit   Sandringham Dragons

Garrett McDonagh   Northern Knights

Sean McLaren   Sandringham Dragons

Toby McLean   Oakleigh Chargers

Billy Myers   Western Jets

Rielly O’Brien   Calder Cannons

Fraser Pearce   Oakleigh Chargers

Rory Sheridan-Ferrie   Eastern Ranges

Jayden Short   Northern Knights

Jack Sinclair   Oakleigh Chargers

Sam Switkowski   Northern Knights

Ryan Tester   Northern Knights

Lachlan Waddell   Oakleigh Chargers

Tom Wilkinson   Sandringham Dragons


Brenden Abbott   Claremont

Matthew Ah Siu   South Fremantle

Sam Bevan   Claremont

Blaine Boekhorst   Swan Districts

Darcy Cameron   Claremont

Rick Cary   Swan Districts

Adam Creeper   Subiaco

Jarrod Hardisty   Claremont

Alex Howard   Swan Districts

Ryan Lim   Claremont

Cameron Loersch   South Fremantle

Dylan Nelson   Swan Districts

Matthew Palfrey   Claremont

Haiden Schloithe   South Fremantle

Bradley Walsh   Claremont

Alec Waterman   Claremont

Dylan Winton   Peel Thunder

Shane Yarran   Subiaco

Our Supporters