Queensland State Team: The numbers game

Here’s the numbers you need to know about the Queensland Team as they head into their clash with Vic Metro on Sunday.

QAFL Players: 18

NEAFL Players: 12

QAFL clubs represented: Morningside (7), Labrador (8), Wilston Grange (2), Western Magpies (1).

NEAFL clubs represented: Aspley (6), Southport (3), Redland (3)

AFL players: Albert Proud, 29 games for the Brisbane Lions, now at Wilston Grange.

Goals in 2015 between the squad: 142

Most goals in 2015: Josh Baxter – 20

Baxter has been prominent up forward for Labrador this year. Despite lining up most weeks alongside the likes of Josh Fraser, Matthew Lappin, Bryce Perry-Bolt and Matt Daniel, Baxter kicked a bag of five last weekend against Wilston Grange.

Average time in the best in 2015: 2.4 matches

Between the 30 squad members, they are averaging being named in the best in over two games each this year. Out of a maximum eight games being played, they are amongst the best on ground over 25 per cent of the time.

Most time in best: Adam Clarke – 7/7

Clarke has ran out seven times for Labrador this season, and all seven of those games he has been in the best for the Tigers, including a best on ground performance against Wilston Grange last weekend.

Average age: 24

Oldest player: Luke Scott (29)

Youngest player: Matt Daniel (19)

Average height: 186cm

Tallest player: Josh Clarke and Peter Mollison (200cm)

Shortest player: Adam Clarke (174cm)

2014 Morningside QAFL premiership players: Six – Adam Spackman, Matthew Logan, Peter Mollison, Lachlan Russ, Jamie Hackett, Alistair Nash

Morningside got the job done in 2015 pretty convincingly, so it’s no surprise to see so many of that team represented in the Queensland team this year. Out of the seven Morningside players to pull on the Q this year, only Ryley Buntain who wasn’t at the club when they lifted the cup.

2014 Labrador QAFL grand finalists: Four – Jye Warren, Ryan Davey, Matt Daniel, Josh Clarke.

Labrador made it into last years QAFL grand final following a succession of after the siren wins, and these four had a huge hand in it. They might not have walked away with premiership medal, but they being exposed to such a big game is only going to help them come Sunday.

2014 Aspley NEAFL premiership players: Two – Ryan Holman, Henry Joyce

Holman and Joyce were apart of a remarkable two point NEAFL grand final win over the Sydney Swans. Holman finished with one goal to his name, and was named amongst Aspley’s best.

Members of the 2014 QAFL squad of 35: 4 – Ryan Davey, Matthew Logan, Peter Mollison, Steve Brittain.

Biggest Transformation in 12 months: Steve Brittain


By Andrew Wiles and Danny McCarthy

Our Supporters