Queensland Female KickStart team named

Selectors have named the Queensland team to compete in the National AFL Female KickStart Championships to be held at the Moreton Bay Regional Sports Complex, AFL Precinct from Monday September 15.

The five-day Championships will see seven Indigenous teams represented at Under 18 level, including all States and Territories.

AFL Queensland female programs coordinator, Breeanna Brock said the program plays a key role in developing Indigenous female talent.

“Girls are selected based on key elements of wellbeing, such as health and school attendance, as well as their football ability and potential to transition into the Queensland U18 Youth Girls team,” said Brock.

“The Queensland Female KickStart team includes players from Cape York to the Northern Rivers and, regardless of their representative future, the KickStart program prepares the players for a return to their local leagues, as improved players and people.”

The team will be coached by Queensland football legend, Jo Butland, a four-time All-Australian player, Australian captain and six-time Queensland representative.

Assistant Coach will be Ally Anderson, who was drafted at pick 44 to the Western Bulldogs in the inaugural Women’s exhibition match at the MCG in 2013.

The Championships will form the basis for selection to compete in the 2015 National Female Youth Championships as part of the AFL Indigenous Female Woomeras team. Three-time Premiership player with the Brisbane Lions and AFL Talent Manager Chris Johnson will head the selection process.

2014 Queensland KickStart team


Te’anna Fujii

Thursday Island

Shalise Law


Tashina Ketchup


Klarindah Hudson


Delma Gisu


Pamai Dau

Thursday Island

Noëlani Henry-Moore


Moesha Morris


Sherita Pilot


Kiara Matthew


Amberlee Smith


Gertie Kris


Daisy Gordon


Our Supporters