Queensland Clubs Fare Well at NEAFL Awards

Southport midfielder Jordan Keras won the NEAFL’s MVP award on Sunday night, in an exciting vote count at Sofitel Brisbane Central that went down to the final round. The 23-year-old averaged 35 disposals and 10 clearances over the course of the season for the Sharks and led the competition in Champion Data ranking points.

“It hasn’t really (sunk in). You don’t really know what to expect coming into these counts,” said Keras, speaking after the ceremony.

“I like to think I can have an impact at state league level. But to win the actual award for the league, I never thought I’d be able to do that.”

Exciting Aspley talent and Wilston Grange junior, Oskar Baker, won the goal of the year for a scintillating running goal that started at the half back line. Baker, 19, was recently invited to take part in the Victorian State Combine and has had at least six interviews this year with AFL clubs.

Redland’s Clay Cameron was awarded mark of the year and also received Team of the Year honors, alongside teammates Adrian Williams and Jackson Paine, Aspley duo Gavin Grose and Matt Payne, Gold Coast trio Ryan Davis, Mitch Hallahan and Darcy Macpherson, MVP winner Jordan Keras and Brisbane’s Jono Freeman and Oscar McInerney.

Gavin Grose from the Aspley Football Club was awarded the NEAFL Representative Player of the Year award, for his performance against Tasmania in June.




By Sean Melrose

Our Supporters