QSport Awards Nominations

AFL Queensland have been recognised with nominations in 10 categories ahead of the upcoming 2023 Queensland Sport Awards following a record-breaking season.

Brisbane Lions stars Ally Anderson and Lachie Neale headline the nominations, both nominated for The Courier-Mail Channel 7 Queensland Sport Star of the Year.

Ally, a foundation and premiership player for the Lions, was awarded the AFL Women’s Best and Fairest player in November 2022. She is now starring for the Lions as they push for a second premiership in the 2023 NAB AFLW Finals.

Lachie, Co-Captain of the men’s team, was awarded the prestigious 2023 Brownlow Medal in September, as the best and fairest player in the AFL. This occurred in the same week Lachie led out the Lions in the Telstra AFL Grand Final against Collingwood.

Lions men’s coach Chris Fagan is nominated for Queensland Sport Coach of the Year. In his seventh year at the helm and four consecutive finals appearances, Fagan led the Lions to their first Grand Final in 19 years.

The Brisbane Lions men’s team are nominated for Queensland Sport Team of the Year after their incredible journey to the 2023 Telstra AFL Grand Final.

The AFL Queensland Under 18 Girls Team are nominated for rebel Queensland Junior Sport Team of the Year for their outstanding performance at the 2023 AFL National Championships, winning two out of a possible three games.

2023 AFL Draft hopeful Jed Walter has been nominated for The Courier Mail Channel 7 Queensland Junior Sport Star of the Year. Jed, a Palm Beach Currumbin junior and Gold Coast SUNS Academy player, captained the Allies team to their first AFL National Championship premiership in 2023 and was named All Australian.

The 2022 AFL Women’s Grand Final is nominated for the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre Queensland Sport Event of the Year. The match between the Lions and Melbourne was the first game held at the new Brisbane Lions facility, Brighton Homes Arena.

Head of AFL Queensland Trisha Squires is nominated for Gallagher Queensland Sport Administrator of the Year. In 2023 Trisha led the team at AFL Queensland to an all-time participation record, with 68,000 people playing footy across the state.

Umpire Andrew Adair is nominated for the Konica Minolta Queensland Sport Officiator of the Year after an outstanding season where he officiated in the 2022 AFLW Grand Final, the 2022 VFL Grand Final and was named VFL Field Umpire of the Year.

The AFL Queensland Wheelchair Football League is nominated for the QUT Sport innovation of the Year. 2023 marked the first year of the Queensland Wheelchair Football League (QWFL), with a field of four mixed foundation teams, Beenleigh Buffaloes, Morningside Panthers, Ormeau Bulldogs and Redcliffe Tigers doing battle for the first QWFL Premiership. Open to players aged 16 and over, the competition has featured Paralympians and cross-code athletes. The Morningside Panthers were convincing winners in the Grand Final led by their captain Michael Dobbie-Bridges.  

AFL Queensland’s Talent Manager Mark Browning will also be acknowledged with a Queensland Government Serivce to Sport award. Mark has made a significant and sustained contribution to the game’s growth and development over a playing, coaching and administrative career that spans 48 years. 

The winners will be announced at the 2023 Queensland Sport Awards and Hall of Fame Induction at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on November 30.

Our Supporters