QLD Scorpions U18 Squad Announced

29 Players will have the opportunity to represent Queensland in the 2012 NAB AFL National Championships

The 2012 Queensland Scorpions Under 18 squad was announced today with 29 players having the opportunity to represent their State in the NAB AFL National Championships games in 2012.

The players were chosen from both the Under 18 Brisbane Lions Academy and the Under 18 Gold Coast Suns Academy which have just completed a full pre season summer training program which commenced in early November and ended last Saturday with the final Academy practice match.

New Queensland Scorpions Under 18 Coach Ray Windsor paid tribute to both Academies for the wonderful training and match program and especially thanked Lions Academy Manager Luke Curran, Lions Academy Coach Scott Borlace and his staff together with Suns Academy Manager Andrew Johnston and Suns Coach Jason Torney and his staff. 

Windsor is hopeful that the professional pre season base provided by the Academies program is used by the players as a platform to aspire to and perform at the National level come Championships games in June and July.

Windsor said that players who were not selected in the squad below should take on board the feedback provided by their Academy coaches and work hard back at their Clubs with the aim of forcing their way into calculations with standout performances at NEAFL or SEQAFL level over the coming weeks.

All players chosen are asked to attend a Scorpions Orientation session on Monday 9 April commencing 6.00 pm at AFL Queensland High Performance Centre at Yeronga (Cansdale Street). Players are asked to email/ text/phone Robbie Hull rhull@aflq-new.fspdev.com Mob 0403344380 to confirm attendance on the night.

A Scorpions Handbook detailing training and match day times and player responsibilities will be distributed at the Orientation session. Training commences Wednesday 11 April at Yeronga.


James Ives  Aspley FC

Sam Henry  Aspley FC

Josh Wagner  Aspley FC

Isaac Conway  Aspley FC

Aliir Aliir  Aspley FC

Jordan Bain  Redland FC

Tyler Jones  Redland FC via Mackay Saints

Tom Overington  Mt Gravatt FC via Sandgate

Clay Cameron  Mt Gravatt FC

Rhys Power  Morningside FC

Josh Smith   Morningside FC via Toowoomba

Alex Hall  Morningside FC

Brain Coleman-Broome Morningside FC

Jesse Wallin  Morningside FC

Michael Wyld  Morningside FC

Ryan Johnson  Morningside FC

Will Wolbers   Morningside FC

Jordan Bourke  Morningside FC

Cain Tickner  Noosa FC

Jono Freeman  Noosa FC

Sam Gribble  Sandgate FC

Aden Rutledge  Sandgate FC

Jarred Ellis  Broadbeach FC

Jamie Skennar  Broadbeach FC

Andrew Boston  Broadbeach FC

Kieran Brennan  Broadbeach FC

Daniel Vanderwerken Southport FC via Surfers Paradise

Jermaine Wardle Labrador FC via Cairns Hawks

John Macansh  Curra Swans FC (Townsville)

Our Supporters