QFA Division 2 South 2020 Fixture Announced

AFL Queensland has today released the 2020 fixture for the newly established QFA Division 2 South competition.

Check out the 2020 QFA Division 2 South fixture right here

Throughout the 2019 season a review of all QFA competitions was undertaken.

The review resulted in the establishment of Division 2 North and Division 2 South competition format, similarly the four team QFA Northern Rivers competition was disbanded with the four Northern NSW clubs being incorporated into the QFA Division 2 South competition.

The new structure focussed on reducing the impacts of travel for those not competing at the QAFL or QFA Division 1 level.

The restructure means the QFA Division 2 South competition will comprise of 12 teams who will compete across a 16-round season and a four-week finals series, culminating in the Grand Final being played on Sunday, August 30.

Competition Manager – QFA Division 1-2, Leigh Harding, said the new QFA Division 2 South competition will give clubs the chance to rekindle old local rivalries or etch new ones.

 “The clubs at the former Division 2 and 3 level were keen to reduce travel as well trying to generate more localised content,” Mr Harding said.

“The new structure provides a great opportunity for more local rivalry games, which hopefully will draw more people to the footy.”  

Ballina, Burleigh, Byron Bay, Lismore and Tweed Coast are the five new additions to those clubs who competed in 2019 Division 2 competition, while Bond University, who won the Division 2 premiership in 2019, are among five Gold Coast-based teams in the competition.

ANZAC Round (Round 4) and Sir Doug Nicholls Round (Round 8) will once again be prominent marquee rounds, while Round 12 of the fixture will see the competition stage its first ever Pride Round, where it will promote LGBTIQ+ inclusion and awareness.

Bond University will unfurl their premiership flag at home in Round 1, when they host Division 1 aspirant Kenmore.

The four New South Wales’ based clubs will all play in the Northern Rivers region in Round 4, with defending QFA Northern Rivers premiers, Byron Bay, hosting Tweed Coast, while Ballina will host Lismore at Fripp Oval.

Also included in the fixture are three competition-wide bye rounds, including one held between Rounds 12 and 13 for the annual North Queensland v South Queensland representative game which will be played at Southport on June 27.

*Please note: times and venues are subject to change.

FIXTURE: 2020 QFA Division 2 South

Our Supporters