QAFLW Captain’s have their say on upcoming season

The QAFLW Captains have revealed the teams and players they believe will rise to the top this year ahead of this weekend’s opening round.

All clubs were given the nod to make finals this year with half considered genuine grand final contenders including, last year’s runner’s up Southport Sharks, Bond University, Coorparoo, and Aspley.  

Five players across the competition were voted as potential Zielke Medal winners with Steph O’Brien from Southport Sharks, Ava Seton from UQ and Courtney Sexton from Bond University all gaining two votes each and Bond University’s Meara Gavin and Southport’s Georgia Breward also in the mix.

The QAFL captains also had their say on who they thought would be this year’s Zielke Medalist and selected Jo Miller (Coorparoo), Chloe Litherland (Wilston Grange), Paris Lightfoot (Bond University) and Kelsee Sills (Maroochydore).

Steph O’Brien (Southport) and Emma MacNeill (Wilston Grange) are favourites to take out Leading Goalkicker with Southport’s Darcie Davies and Jess Malouf, Coorparoo’s Jenae Govan and Aspley’s Rachael Vetter also receiving one vote each.

UQ’s Kadie Fletcher was tipped to kick the goal of the year, closely followed by Jaida Tabb (Aspley), Bella Iverach (Bond University), Binta Lamin (Coorparoo) and Steph O’Brien (Southport) again.

Recent AFLW draftee Poppy Boltz from Southport was voted most likely to take home Mark of the Year with votes also going to Angela Lingard (Aspley), Emma MacNeill (Wilston Grange), Meara Girvan (Bond), Jenae Govan (Coorparoo), Jaida Tabb (Aspley) and Sophie Dunne (Yeronga).

The captains were asked six key questions about the season ahead, with the proviso their individual answers would be treated anonymously to ensure personal views. See their votes below:


Which other clubs do you think will make finals this year?

8 – Southport, Bond University

5 – Aspley, Coorparoo

2 – Maroochydore

1 – UQ, Yeronga, Wilston Grange


Which other club is most likely to reach the Grand Final?

4 – Southport

2 – Bond

1 – Coorparoo, Aspley


Who do you think will win the 2023 Grogan Medal?

2 – Steph O’Brien (Southport), Ava Seton (UQ), Courtney Sexton (Bond)

1 – Georgia Breward (Southport), Meara Gavin (Bond)


Who will be this year’s leading goal kicker?

3 – Steph O’Brien (Southport), Emma MacNeill (Wilston Grange)

1 – Darcie Davies and Jess Malouf (Southport), Jenae Govan (Coorparoo), Rachael Vetter (Aspley)


Which player is most likely to win goal of the year?

3 – Kadie Fletcher (UQ)

2 – Jaida Tabb (Aspley)

1 – Bella Iverach (Bella), Binta Lamin (Coorparoo), Steph O’Brien (Southport)


Which player is most likely to win mark of the year?

2 – Poppy Boltz (Southport)

1 – Angela Lingard (Aspley), Emma MacNeill (Wilston Grange), Meara Girvan (Bond University), Jenae Govan (Coorparoo), Jaida Tabb (Aspley), Sophie Dunne (Yeronga)

Our Supporters