Monday 6 September 2010

The biggest night of the QAFL season is almost upon us with the announcement of the big individual awards of 2010.

The JA Grogan Medal votes will be counted at the Legends Room at the Gabba tonight with a host of the competition’s biggest names in the mix.

Southport stars Danny Wise and Darren Pfeiffer, former winner Jacob Gough and rising young Morningside teammate Damien Bonney are all considered big chances.

Aspley recruit Matt Shir is also expected to figure prominently, while Redland captain Phil Carse has been a regular votegetter in recent seasons.

Another former winner Todd Featherstone and Labrador teammate Jason Howard – who was close to best afield in yesterday’s second semi-final triumph – should also poll votes alongside the eye-catching Mat Clarke.

Wise and Cameron Ilett were the leaders of the Syd Guildford Trophy voting when it went into camera a month before season’s end, with Pfeiffer, Gough and Bonney all in positions to close on them.

The man after which the Trophy is named, Syd Guildford – who played a league record 333 games for Wilston-Grange – will present the award.

The nab Rising Star, which recognizes performances at senior and State level coupled with the potential to go onto play AFL football, will also be announced.

Results will be posted on tonight. 

Our Supporters