QAFL/NEAFL Mini draft complete

Every NEAFL player now has a QAFL home as well, after three mini-drafts held this week.

NEAFL teams have a primary list of 35 players, meaning up to 13 players could be available to play for the QAFL club to which they are aligned, each week.

Each NEAFL player has an aligned QAFL club, based on their playing history or the geographic club alignment.

Players who have moved to a current NEAFL club from what is a QAFL club within the past five years, was able to align with that club regardless of location, with a view to easing the transition between the competitions.

Any player who either didn’t have an alignment to or opted not to align with a previous club was available to be selected in one of three drafts held this week.

This meant clubs had a differing number of picks, ranging from Sandgate and Broadbeach, who filled their lists with alignments, while UQ had the most live picks, with 10.

The establishment of this system, in light of the competition restructures, has already seen the relationship between QAFL and NEAFL clubs grow closer, through consistent engagement about on and off-field events.

The full draft allocation is below, with asterisks indicating aligned players.



*Ryan Holman
*Henry Joyce
*Jon Williams
*Luke Rogerson
*Josh Smith
*Ryley Buntain
*Will Wolbers
*Ed Mallan
Daniel Dzufer
Adrian Williams
Damian Steven
Matt Thomson
Tom Salter

Mt Gravatt

* Gavin Grose
*Mitch Harley
*Andrew Scott
*Rhys Estall
* Andrew Smith
*Craig Malone
*Jesse Green
Paul Hunter
Adam Boon
Blake Grewar
Blake Passfield
Cleve  Hughes
Darren Pfeiffer
Sam Godfrey

Western Magpies

* Luke Scott
* Cory Hopkins
Jordan Bain
Ben Landry
Blaec Ablett
Brad Howard
Brad Rees
Dylan Byrne
Jack Goodall
Matt Sondergeld
Phil Carse
Phil Lovett
Tom Michael
Tyler Jones


Wilston Grange

* Ben Haire
* Clinton French
* Jack James
Austin Lucy
Jack Stanley
John James
Matt Payne
Reece Toye
Robert Copeland


George Hanniford
Cain Tickner
Cheynee Stiller
Daniel Smith
Eddie Sandsbury
James Ives
Jason Satchell
Jed Turner
Joey Daye
Ryan Matthews


* Mitch Pettitt
* Adam Hughes
* Aden Rutledge
* Ben Bevan
* Brendan Forbes
* Declan Bevan
* James Nelis
* Josh Wagner
* Michael Hutchinson
* Ryan Thomson
* Sam Gribble


Palm Beach

* Stephen Thynne
* Liam McNeven
Zac Callinan
Dylan Troutman
Jake Keller
Nick Crowley
Sam Haslem
Wayde Mills

Surfers Paradise 

* Dane Grant
* Ben Merrett
* Fraser Pope
* Regan Salter
John Macansh
Hadyn Kiel
Jason Burge
Luke Hill
Nathan Kenny


* Adam Clarke
* Jake Goldsmith
* Todd Grayson
* Stephen Wrigley
Ben Headland
Glenn Screech
Josh Baxter
Mark Collison


* Kieran Brennan
* Mitch Brewer
* Nick Burton
* Kallen Geary
* Adam McKenzie
* Luke Shreeve
* Darin Stewart
* Lachlan Weller
* Ben Wells

Our Supporters