NQ v SQ Teams Announced

The teams are in ahead of this weekend’s history making intrastate games at Southport’s Fankhauser Reserve. For the first time in the North Queensland v South Queensland program history, both men and women will represent their region at a senior level.

The men have been going head-to-head since 2014 and the women now get their opportunity to create a rivalry for the ages.

The North Queensland team, under the guidance of AFL Cairns stalwart Jo Butland, have selected a balanced team with each region well represented. The team boasts a wealth of emerging talent, with the likes of Yeppoon’s Ella Calleja and Bakers Creek’s Indi Brough eager to show off their potential on the big stage.

Meanwhile, the South Queensland team will incorporate players from all across South-East Queensland and the Darling Downs and Wide Bay regions.  Goondiwindi’s Shaye Easton has made the four-hour trek to all training sessions and impressed on the track along with the experienced Bella Freeman from Broadbeach. With Gold Coast Suns AFLW star Jamie Stanton at the helm, the South Queensland team will be primed and ready to go come game day, with more than 55 players having trained leading into final selection.

Former Melbourne Demons player, Aaron Davey, will lead North Queensland for a second year and he will be keen to extend his winning record to two. His job will be made easier with two of last year’s prime movers in Robbie Turnbull and Lachlan Rhook backing up again, while former Essendon player Jake Long will make his North Queensland debut.

In his first outing as South Queensland Head Coach, Rory Lake, has assembled a new look team that he will be hoping to bring some youthful energy to the clash. Seasoned South Queensland campaigner Rowan Page will again don the red and blue and he will be joined by Springwood teammates Matt Preston Smith and Jake Keeble.

The women’s game starts at 2pm and the men’s 4pm, with both games to be streamed live via clutch.tv. Game day entry is free.

South Queensland Women

Grace Eden Sandgate 
Evie Long  Sandgate 
Emily Bleney Mt Gravatt
Emily McGregor Burleigh
Ashlee Gould Burleigh
Arianna Williams Redcliffe
Melita Watts Surfers Paradise
Jessica Watts Surfers Paradise
Jekaya Lam Surfers Paradise
Gracie Roy Morningside 
Eleanor Tuitahi Morningside 
Bella Freeman Broadbeach 
Bianca Lenarcic  Broadbeach 
Holly Thompson  BroadBeach
Sophie Balcombe Broadbeach
Jacinta Baldwick Sherwood
Samara Mahoney Sherwood
Jessica Davy Moreton Bay
Chloe Crothers South Toowoomba
Shaye Easton Goondiwindi
Scout Strong Across the Waves
Kirsten Fuller  Hervey Bay


Coaching & Support Staff Club
Jamie Stanton – Head Coach Gold Goast Suns AFLW
Ben Long – Lead Asst Coach Sandgate 
Ariana Reilly – Asst Coach Coorparoo
Lisa Milne – Asst Coach Mt Gravatt
David Lake – Coach Mentor SE Qld
Helena McNaught – Team Manager  Yeronga
Debra Mielke – Trainer  SE Qld


North Queensland Women 

Kate Fowles Cairns Saints 
Kate Wheaton Cairns Saints 
Tiarna Ahwang Cairns Saints 
Grace Perry  Cairns Saints 
Jasmine Ware North Cairns
Grace Johnson Cairns City Lions
Jen Wren Manunda Hawks
Alyssa Whiley Hermit Park Tigers
Bridie Kippin Hermit Park Tigers
Bonnie Farrell Curra Swans
Bailey Devine Uni Hawks
Holly Mirfield Uni Hawks
Ally Trigg Uni Hawks
Indi Brough Bakers Creek Tigers
Siobhan Carlton North Mackay Saints
Demi Leach  Mackay City Hawks
Hannah Hillman  Mackay City Hawks
Ella Calleja Yeppoon Swans
Jemma Abbott Glenmore Bulls
Meagan Rickertt Glenmore Bulls
Amy Mill Rockhampton Panthers
Taivia Dunne Brothers Kangaroos


Coaching & Support Staff Club 
Jo Butland – Head Coach North Cairns 
Kieran Daley – Lead Asst Coach Gold Coast Suns AFLW
Meg Greenland – Asst Coach Curra Swans
Jennifer Revell – Asst Coach Mackay City Hawks
Pam Waine – Team Manager Brothers Kangaroos
Michael McGovern – Trainer Hermit Park Tigers


North Queensland Men 

Ty Auton Curra Swans
MckyeTurner Hermit Park Tigers
Luke Slater  North Mackay
Regan Underwood Mackay Magpies
Christian Burgess Yeppoon 
Jamie Garner Yeppoon 
Matt Wallin Yeppoon 
Zac Straker Cairns Saints
Lachlan Wallace Centrals Trinity
Alex Rogers  South Cairns
Jake Long Cairns City Lions
Robbie Turnbull Cairns City Lions
Sean Connelly Cairns City Lions
Branden Deslandes Cairns City Lions
Nick Johnson Cairns City Lions
Lachie Rhook Centrals Trinity
Michael Griechen Centrals Trinity
Brock Carter North Cairns
Darcy Keast North Cairns
Boe Collins North Cairns
Kalan Huntly Port Douglas
Corey Flint Manunda Hawks
Noah Cockerell – Emergency  Cairns Saints 


Coaching & Support Staff Club
Aaron Davey – Head Coach  Cairns City Lions
Wesley Glass – Asst Coach  Cairns Saints 
Jason Tom – Asst Coach  North Cairns
Chris Burgess – Asst Coach Yeppoon Swans
John Durkin – Ambassador AFL Townsville
Briony Pratt – Trainer Manunda Hawks
Ben Carbis  – Team Manager  AFL Cairns


South Queensland Men 

Josh Keleher Caloundra
Brad Kimberley Caloundra
Dane Stewart Caloundra
Max Jacobsen Caloundra
Jacob Watson Caloundra
Luca Mason  Caloundra 
Jacob Knight Hinterland
Dominic Kilworth Hinterland
Jake Keeble Springwood
Rowan Page Springwood
Matt Preston-Smith Springwood
Declun Goode Beenleigh
Sean Goode Beenleigh
Matthew Schlein Bay Power
Jayden Smith Coolaroo
Josh Earl Coorparoo
Sam Holna Coorparoo
Shayle Korander Coorparoo
Ben Hogan Coorparoo
Tristan Taylor Brothers Bulldogs
Deng Arok Uni Cougars
Lachlan Nixon-Smith Burleigh


Coaching & Support Staff Club
Rory Lake – Head Coach  Coorparoo
Josh Duffy – Asst Coach  Mayne
Leigh Harding – Asst Coach  Morningside 
Paul Reyne – Asst Coach Springwood
Danny Craven – Ambassador Mayne
Mark Mason – Team Manager Wide Bay 
John Blam -Trainer Springwood


Our Supporters