North Queensland squad finalised

North Queensland has named it final 23-man squad to take on North Queensland this Sunday.

The match is part of a state representative program that will see four matches played at the Moreton Bay Regional Sports Complex in Brisbane during the Queen’s Birthday weekend.

The South Queensland team – comprising players from the QFA, QAFA, Darling Downs and Wide Bay leagues – will take on the best North Queensland players from Cairns, Mackay, Mount Isa, Capricornia and Townsville.

North Queensland coach John Tootell knows that the final squad is a group of players passionate about representing North Queensland.

“It represents a quality, balanced and talented team across all lines, with a mix of experience, versatility and pace, along with a couple of emerging players who have earned a call up through good form over the last couple of weeks to month,” said Tootell.

“We’re going into the match with an exceptional on-ball/midfield brigade, and have opted for an extra in this rotation rather than in the defenders, as we feel that will again be important given the big ground at Burpengary.  It was breezy conditions there last year as well, so it’s going to be important to move the ball forward quickly through the mid zone.”

“We are confident that the 22 selected players will gel well together and be committed to executing our game plan.”

AFL Cairns dual Crathern Medal winner and multiple AFL Cairns leading goalkicker Matthew Walsh will captain the North Queensland team, with Nathan Peters from Townsville and Zac Ewer from Cairns his vices-captains.

“In Walshy we know we have someone who is great leader, a respected person and who will lead by example out on the ground,” said Tootell. 

“He’s the perfect man for the role in what could well be his last year and last representative outing.”

The first bounce is at 10.30am.

1 Charlie Haley Cairns City Lions, AFL Cairns
2 Kane Parsons Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
3 Jordan Roberts Cairns Saints, AFL Cairns
4 Zac Ewer South Cairns, AFL Cairns
5 Jarrod Watling Mackay City, AFL Mackay
6 James Dixon South Cairns, AFL Cairns
7 Jermaine Wardle South Cairns, AFL Cairns
8 Jack Fisher Cairns City Lions, AFL Cairns
9 Ryan Lempa Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
10 Matthew Walsh Cairns Saints, AFL Cairns
11 Antony Sercombe Port Douglas, AFL Cairns
12 Rhys Bridge Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
13 Max McLachlan Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
14 Sam Conroy Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
15 Cameron Adam Cairns City Lions, AFL Cairns
16 Nick Jensen South Cairns, AFL Cairns
17 Kieran Daley Cairns Saints, AFL Cairns
18 Nathan Peters Hermit Park, AFL Townsville
19 Joel Child Central Trinity Beach, AFL Cairns
20 Ricky Sullivan Thuringowa Bulldogs, AFL Townsville
21 Matthew Sondergeld Buffalos , Mt Isa
22 Jack Philp Cairns Saints, AFL Cairns
23 Jed Dunstan Uni Hawks, AFL Townsville

Our Supporters