North and South Queensland name initial squads for representative clash

By Ant Wingard    @AntWingard

AFL Queensland have announced their preliminary North and South Queensland representative squads in preparation for next month’s annual intrastate clash.

The two sides will go head to head for the fifth time and with the ledger even at two wins apiece, thus the marquee match boasts stakes higher than ever before.

Squads for the game, which will be played on July 14 at the Aspley Hornet’s Graham Road venue, were selected following numerous selection meetings with coaching staff and AFL Queensland representatives.

Players in the South Queensland side will be represented by players from QFA Clubs in the south-east region, as well as players from the Wide Bay, Darling Downs and Northern Rivers leagues.

North Queensland has selected players from competitions in Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Mt Isa and Capricornia.

For the first time in the game’s history, both representative coaches will remain the same from the year prior.

Danny Craven is at the helm of the South Queensland side for the third consecutive season, while Brad Cooper returns for a second stint at shuffling the magnets for the North Queensland team.

Cooper’s initial 48-man squad possesses a wealth of experience, highlighting the unmitigated levels of talent from the north.

The Port Douglas Crocs, who have lost just one game this season in the AFL Cairns competition, are the most well represented side with ten inclusions in the squad.

Among the Crocs to be named in the initial squad is former Sydney Swans player, Brett Meredith, who has booted 16 goals in his ten games, and Kye Chapple, who has booted 100 goals in each of the past three seasons.

Former Melbourne Demons star, Aaron Davey, who kicked 174 goals in his 178 games at AFL level, is one of two Cairns City Lions players in the squad.

AFL Cairns leading goal kicker, Thomas Eltringham, has been rewarded for his form in front of goal with his inclusion in the squad.

Eltringham is averaging over eight goals per game this season, and is one of nine players from the Cairns Saints to be named, along with Tasmanian native Cameron Johns.

Thuringowa Bulldog player Charlton Offermans, who played in Labrador’s 2016 QAFL premiership team and Eastern Swans coach George Hannaford, who played ten NEAFL and 49 QAFL games, yield the big game experience the North Queensland team will need if they are to claim victory.

The South Queensland squad features 48 players, as they look to extend their streak in the representative game to three wins.

Noosa and Maroochydore’s dominant form in the QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup has been duly acknowledged by the selectors, with nine players named from each club.

Ryan Holman is set to be a massive inclusion this year as the recent addition to the Mayne Tigers comes with state representative experience as well as over 100 NEAFL matches with Morningside and Aspley. Playing on home turf will ensure that he holds all the cards for this crucial match.

The Southern Queensland list boats further AFL experience with Springwood livewire Rhan Hooper set to play in his first intrastate representative game.

The team’s goal kicking prowess will come via Maroochydore spearhead, Mitchell Scholard and Burleigh full forward Calhan McQueen. Between them, they have contributed 91 goals so far in 2018 and sit first and second in the HART Sport Cup goal kicking.

Noosa star Thomas Templeton, last year’s Ron Davidson Medallist for the best South Queensland representative player, has the ability to turn the game as a goal kicking midfielder and will be player North Queensland will be keen to contain.


North Queensland Squad


First Name



1 Aaron Davey Cairns City Lions
2 Hakeem Flowers Cairns City Lions
3 Adam Davey Cairns Saints
4 Cade Wellington Cairns Saints
5 Cameron Johns Cairns Saints
6 Jack Philp Cairns Saints
7 Joel Newman Cairns Saints
8 Kieran Daley Cairns Saints
9 Thomas Eltringham Cairns Saints
10 Tim Lamprill Cairns Saints
11 Jackson Williams Centrals Trinity Bay
12 Ryan Lempa Centrals Trinity Bay
13 Corey Flint Manunda Hawks
14 Tyler Gorogo Manunda Hawks
15 Ezekiel Frank Manunda Hawks
16 Chris Novy North Cairns
17 Adam Gross Port Douglas
18 Brett McKeown Port Douglas
19 Brett Meredith Port Douglas
20 Christopher Taylor Port Douglas
21 Jordan Chapman Port Douglas
22 Josh Wilson Port Douglas
23 Kye Chapple Port Douglas
24 Skip Gribbon Port Douglas
25 Wesley Glass Port Douglas
26 Damien Dewis South Cairns
27 James Dixon South Cairns
28 Jermaine Wardle South Cairns
29 Zac Ewer South Cairns
30 Jamie Garner Yeppoon Swans
31 Danny Conway BITS Saints
32 Brock Rothe BITS Saints
33 Tim Higgins Glenmore Bulls
34 Jared Campbell Whitsunday Sea Eagles
35 Jake Hare Whitsunday Sea Eagles
36 Mitchell Bell Whitsunday Sea Eagles
37 Alec Townsend North Mackay Saints
38 George Hannaford Eastern Swans
39 Cameron Webster Hermit Park Tigers
40 Broderick Hardacre Hermit Park Tigers
41 Declan Wode Hermit Park Tigers
42 Damian Pywell Hermit Park Tigers
43 Jason Di Betta Hermit Park Tigers
44 John Nolan Thuringowa Bulldogs
45 Reiley Guest Thuringowa Bulldogs
46 Charlton Offermans Thuringowa Bulldogs
47 Max Newman Northern Beaches Suns
48 Joshua Cass University Hawks


South Queensland Squad


First Name



1 Ben Bissett Alexandra Hills
2 Nicholas Jackson Aspley
3 Tom Watson Aspley
4 Jacob Watson Aspley
5 Ryan Birnie Beenleigh
6 Jack James Beenleigh
7 Ben Merrett Bond University
8 Sam Sandford Burleigh
9 Calhan McQueen Burleigh
10 Regan Salter Burleigh
11 Will McBride Byron Bay
12 Jordon Bourke Byron Bay
13 Matthew Allman Caloundra
14 Trent Saxelby Caloundra
15 Lachlan Robinson Caloundra
16 Nathan Spring Caloundra
17 Michael Artis Coorparoo
18 Brandon Stewart Coorparoo
19 Lanze Magin Gympie
20 Jason Kennedy Maroochydore
21 Jason Ainsworth Maroochydore
22 Jay Lewis Maroochydore
23 Tyle Williams Maroochydore
24 Mitchell Scholard Maroochydore
25 Jake Warren Maroochydore
26 Jacob Simpson Maroochydore
27 Josh Norman Maroochydore
28 Joshua Filo Maroochydore
29 Zac McLean Mayne
30 Jack Collings Mayne
31 Ryan Holman Mayne
32 Jai Fitzpatrick Noosa
33 Aaron Laskey Noosa
34 Corey Boardman Noosa
35 Tyler Stack Noosa
36 Liam Kenny Noosa
37 Mitch Woods Noosa
38 Tom Templeton Noosa
39 Connor McDonald Noosa
40 Jayden Holt Noosa
41 Johno Leidig South Toowoomba
42 Nathan Murcutt Springwood
43 Rohan Page Springwood
44 Rhan Hooper Springwood
45 Charlie Pershouse Uni of Qld
46 Jacob Hawksworth USQ Cougars
47 Josh Wheeler Bay Power
48 Tristan Taylor Brothers Bulldogs

Our Supporters