Bates and Neate claim AFL Queensland top honours

Mt Gravatt midfielder Frazer Neate  has taken out the 2019 J.A. Grogan Medal.

Neate was awarded the maximum three votes in Vultures victories on four occasions during the home and away season. He went on to confirm his win with three votes in the final round to finish the season on 18, ahead of runner up Thomas Thynne from Palm Beach Currumbin who finished the season with 17 votes.

Having risen from Under 18 ranks to the QAFL , Neate has represented the Vultures for over a decade. He is their fourth player to win the QAFL’s highest honour, preceded by Brad Jones in 1999, Mick Stinear in 2004 and most recently Nathan Gilliland in 2009.

Andrew Smith (16 votes), Jesse Derrick (14 votes) and William Pendlebury (12 votes) rounded out the top five.

In the Bond University QAFLW competition Emily Bates from Yeronga South Brisbane was awarded Best & Fairest honours, finishing with 16 votes.

Bates made a strong start in the vote but jostled with Yeronga South Brisbane teammate Jordan Zanchetta and Kalinda Howarth of Bond University for top place throughout the night.

But a three-vote performance against University of Queensland in the penultimate round of the season saw Bates once again move to the top, holding on throughout the final round’s votes to prevail by a single vote.

Bates is one of the Devil’ most experienced and best campaigners whose on field presence has been a defining factor in her success in both the AFLW and with Yeronga South Brisbane at QAFLW level. A Queenslander, she was second pick, Brisbane’s first, in the 2016 AFL Women’s draft prior to the inaugural AFL Women’s season.  Bates in a dual AFL Women’s All-Australian and was the inaugural Brisbane Lions Women’s Best & Fairest winner in 2017.

Kalinda Howarth (15 votes), Jordan Zanchetta (15 votes), Jessica Wuetschner (13 votes), Natalie Grider (11 votes) and Selina Preist (11 votes) rounded out the women’s top five.

Sunshine Coast girl and Marocchydore Roos powerhouse Shannon Campbell was awarded the QAFLW Most Valuable Player Award, as voted by Coaches. Campbell was also recognised in the QAFLW Team of the Year and QAFLW Goal of the Year recipient.

J.A Grogan Medallist runner-up, Thomas Thynne, From Palm Beach Currumbin took out the 2019 Syd Guildford Trophy by an impressive 31-vote margin. The Syd Guildford Trophy is awarded to the QAFL most valued player, as voted by Coaches.

2019 AFL Queensland J.A. Grogan Medal and QAFLW Best & Fairest Award Winners

AFL Queensland Administrator of the Year Award
The AFL  Queensland Administrator of the Year is awarded to a club administrator who demonstrates positive impact on their club, leadership and team work, mentoring and promoting a healthy culture that provides a fair, safe and inclusive environment.

2019 Winner: Deb McQueen, Morningside Panthers   

AFL Merit Award Winners      
Every year in each state the AFL bestows its highest volunteer honour, the AFL Merit Award, to two individuals that have given exemplary service to our game for a period greater than 10 years.

2019 Winners: Neil Mackay, Palm Beach Currumbin State High School and Col Burke, Labrador 

Leading Goal Kickers

QAFL Colts winner: Riley Engels, Palm Beach Currumbin (52 goals)
QAFL Reserves winner: Nathan Carr, Palm Beach Currumbin (39 goals)
QAFLW Development League winner: Sherie Sayle, Coorparoo (19 goals)
QAFLW winner: Kalinda Howarth, Bond University 29 goals)
QAFL winner: Samuel Stubbs, Mt Gravatt (42 goals)

Mark of the Year

QAFLW winner: Jessica Wuetschner, Coorparoo
QAFL winner: Ethan Hunt, Morningside

Goal of the Year

QAFLW winner: Shannon Campbell, Maroochydore
QAFL winner: Daniel Van De Werken, Surfers Paradise

QAFLW Team of the Year

QAFL Team of the Year

Rising Star

QAFLW winner: Lily Postlethwaite (Maroochydore)
QAFL winner: Nathan Colenso (Morningside)        

QAFLW Most Valued Player
The QWAFL MVP is awarded to the most valued players as voted by Coaches. 

​2019 winner: Shannon Campbell (Maroochydore)

Syd Guildford Trophy
The Syd Guildford Trophy if awarded to the QAFL Most Valued Player, as voted by Coaches.

​2019 winner: Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)

Zane Taylor Medallist
The Zane Taylor Medal is awarded to the QAFL representative player of the year.

2019 winner: Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)

Keith Wallis Medal
The Keith Wallis Medal is awarded to the QAFL Colts Best & Fairest player.

2019 winner: Blake Coleman (Morningside)    

Bill Clerke Medal
The Bill Clerke Medal is awarded to the QAFL Reserves Best & Fairest player.

2019 winner: Jake Chapman, Morningside       

​QAFLW Development League Best & Fairest

2019 winner: Maddy Kawa (Aspley)

2019 QAFLW Best & Fairest Leader Board

​16                Emily Bates (Yeronga South Brisbane)
15                Kalinda Howarth (Bond University)
15                Jordan Zanchetta (Yeronga South Brisbane)
13                Jessica Wuetschner (Coorparoo)
11                Natalie Grider (University of Queensland)
11                Selina Priest (Coolangatta Tweed)
10                Lily Postlethwaite (Maroochydore)
9                  Sally Young (Coorparoo)

2019 J.A. Grogan Medal Leader Board

18               Frazer Neate (Mt Gravatt)
17               Thomas Thynne (Palm Beach Currumbin)
16               Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)
14               Jesse Derrick (Palm Beach Currumbin)
12               William Pendlebury (Morningside)
11               John Anthony, Palm Beach Currumbin
11               Jackson Fisher, Broadbeach


Our Supporters