Nathan Beck earns ten votes in the Syd Guildford as Morningside’s form continues

By Ant Wingard @AntWingard

Photo: Brooke Sleep Photography

Morningside Panther Nathan Beck has ridden the team’s wave of great form to claim the maximum ten votes in the Syd Guildford Trophy in Round 10.

The Panthers have won three of their last four contests in the QAFL and Beck has played an instrumental role during their midseason resurgence.

Beck produced his best performance for the red, black and white in Round 10 – a quick rise from his status as a surprise recruit over the offseason.

Fellow Panther, Campbell Wearne, also polled well in what has now become a breakout season for the defender turned midfielder.

Wearne polled four votes in the Panthers’ win over the Western Magpies and has now moved into equal second place on the league leaderboard.

Magpie duo Stephen Mills (seven) and Drew Mitchell (three) also polled well in the match.

Palm Beach Currumbin high flyer Josh Wooley produced a best on ground performance for the Lions as they inflicted another loss on Mt Gravatt.

Wooley led all-comers in the fierce, low-scoring contest with nine votes, while Vulture pair Jayden Crawley (seven) and ruckman Jarrod Huddy (five) and Lion Thomas Thynne (five) also garnered the attention of the coaches.

Labrador captain Bryce Retzlaff was unstoppable down forward for the Tigers as they outlasted Wilston Grange at Bendigo Bank Oval.

Retzlaff kicked a season-high nine goals in the dominant 84-point win and has now moved into the Syd Guildford’s top ten for the first time this year.

The Tigers’ mammoth victory over the Gorillas saw the away side earn a clean sweep in the votes.

Joining Retzladd were Dyson Budarick (eight), Adam Clarke (six), Jarryd Graham, Jaicon Kenny (both two), Thomas Thorsen and Sam Walker (both one).

Seven of the top ten players in the competition earned votes across Round 10 – a fact made even more impressive given the top two players enjoyed the bye.


The Syd Guildford Trophy is awarded to the player judged the best in the competition by the QAFL’s nine coaches.

Voting is conducted by each coach post-game on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn in a game is 10.

In a change from previous years, votes are cumulative. Updates of the Syd Guildford Medal voting will be published on the AFL Queensland website for the first 14 rounds of the season, however following Round 14, votes will go blind.

The winner will be announced at the Grogan Medal Dinner on September 16.

See the full Round 10 votes below.


Western Magpies v Morningside

10 – Nathan Beck (Morn)

7 – Stephen Mills (WM)

4 – Campbell Wearne (Morn)

3 – Drew Mitchell (WM)

2 – Peter Mollison (Morn)

2 – William Wolbers (Morn)

1 – Riley Easton (WM)

1 – Ben Jaenke-Cain (WM)

Mt Gravatt v Palm Beach Currumbin

9 – Josh Woolley (PBC)

7 – Jayden Crawley (Mt G)

5 – Jarrod Huddy (Mt G)

5 – Thomas Thynne (PBC)

2 – Jesse Derrick (PBC)

2 – Mitchell Hart (Mt G)

Wilston Grange v Labrador

10 – Bryce Retzlaff (Lab)

8 – Dyson Budarick (Lab)

6 – Adam Clarke (Lab)

2 – Jarryd Graham (Lab)

2 – Jaicob Kenny (Lab)

1 – Thomas Thorsen (Lab)

1 – Sam Walker (Lab)


41 – Blake Erickson (BB)

34 – Cassidy Haberfield (SP)

34 – Campbell Wearne (Morn)

31 – Dyson Budarick (Lab)

28 – Jarryd Douglas (PBC)

27 – Thomas Thynne (PBC)

26 – Nathan Beck (Morn)

26 – Jayden Crawley (Mt G)

24 – Bryce Retzlaff (Lab)

23 – Peter Mollison (Morn)


Our Supporters