Maroochydore join QWAFL in 2017


AFL Queensland today advised the Maroochydore Football Club that it has been successful in gaining entry to the Queensland Women’s Australian Football League (QWAFL) for season 2017.

The Roos will join existing QWAFL clubs; Wilston Grange, Zillmere, UQ, Yeronga, Coolangatta Tweed and Coorparoo in a new look competition.

“After an unbeaten 2016 in the QWAFA, Maroochydore’s admission into the QWAFL is a natural progression that provides an opportunity for females on the Sunshine Coast to play football at the highest level in the state,” said AFL Queensland State Football Manager Barry Gibson.

“The QWAFL will continue to be a seniors only competition in 2017, however a Queensland Women’s Football Association (QWFA) Division 1 competition will be introduced to underpin the QWAFL, and a QWFA Division 2 to cater for teams with a participation focus.

QWAFL lists will be capped in a bid to create a genuine high performance women’s competition to underpin the new national  AFL Women’s Competition that kicks off in February.

All competition details regarding the QWAFL and QWFA will be announced in early 2017, along with the announcement of  teams in QWFA division 1 and 2.  All female competition fixtures are schedule to be released in February.

Our Supporters