Mackay names top volunteers for 2015

AFL Mackay has recognised the league’s volunteers at the 2015 AFL Mackay Coach and Volunteer Awards.

Mackay City Hawks Juniors Secretary, Team Manager and all-rounder, Karen Lange, was named Club Administrator of The Year for her tireless efforts throughout the season.

The Hawks go-to lady will officially hang up the boots at the end of the season 2015 after nine years of outstanding service to the club.

Sarina Demon’s Teniele Merkel was received the Club Volunteer of the Year award. Teniele has been a key driver in the club’s success since their entered the AFL Mackay competition in 2009.

Vanessa Creeley was recognised for her work with the AFL Mackay executive. As Junior Director, Vanessa has brought structure and processes and has gone above and beyond to make sure Junior football continues to go from strength to strength.

Four coaches were also rewarded for their efforts in coaching, mentoring and giving back to the game.

Pioneer Power Under 11’s coach Luke Bourke was named2015 Junior Coach of the Year, with Eastern Swans Under 17 coach Ian Bulmer named the 2015 Youth Coach of the Year.

Mackay Magpies women’s player and Mackay representative player Teah Mealy was announced as the Female Coach of the Year after putting her hand up to coach the Magpies Under 9’s this season.

Eastern Swans senior coach Brad McLaren took out the Senior Coach of the Year award.

Moranbah Bulldogs Juniors Program Coordinator Ross Branch received the 2015 NAB AFL Auskick Co-ordinator of the for his work with the Moranbah Juniors NAB AFL Auskick program, the largest in the region in 2015.

Club Administrator of the Year: Karen Lange – Mackay City Hawks
Club Volunteer of the Year: Teniele Merkel – Sarina Demons
League Administrator of the Year: Vanessa Creeley – AFL Mackay Junior Director
Junior Coach of the Year: Luke Bourke – Pioneer Power
Youth Coach of the Year: Ian Bulmer – Eastern Swans
Female Coach of the Year: Teah Mealy – Mackay Magpies
Senior Coach of the Year: Brad McLaren – Eastern Swans
NAB AFL Auskick Co-Ordinator of the Year: Ross Branch – Moranbah Bulldogs

Our Supporters