Lions win NAB Cup

Story courtesy of


THE BRISBANE Lions are the 2013 NAB Cup champions, beating Carlton by 41 points in an entertaining Grand Final at Etihad Stadium on Friday night.

The Lions trailed by 13 points at half-time but hit back with five goals to one in the third quarter and ran away 0.16.3 (109) to 2.7.8 (68) winners in front of 24,884 fans.

It was the first pre-season premiership by a Brisbane team, the Lions having previously lost Grand Finals to the Blues in 2007 and Port Adelaide in 2001.

However, Fitzroy won pre-season premierships in 1959 and 1978.

Coach Michael Voss’ array of young talent was on display, with Dayne Zorko, Daniel Rich and Patrick Karnezis all prominent across the ground, and Pearce Hanley providing dash from half-back.

Recruit Brent Moloney won 11 clearances, and looks set to offer an important boost to an area of weakness from last season.

Up forward, veteran big man Jonathan Brown was a towering presence with five goals, and the nippy Josh Green (three goals) was ever-dangerous at his feet.

Blues playmaker Bryce Gibbs was his team’s best, his penetrating kicking helping Mick Malthouse’s men back into the contest during the second quarter after a slow start.

Carlton struggled for a focal point up forward, sharing its scoring among seven individual goal-kickers.

Moloney won six of his clearances in the first quarter as the Lions jumped to an early 27-point lead.

But Carlton hit back with five straight goals either side of quarter-time, including supergoals to Gibbs and Zach Tuohy.

The Blues had a 13-pont lead at the long break but it was not enough, as the young Lions ran over the top after the main break.

The win was all the sweeter for the Lions, having been required to play away from Queensland despite finishing as the only undefeated team during the qualifying rounds.

CARLTON 1.2.0 2.6.6 2.7.7 2.7.9 (68)

BRISBANE LIONS 0.5.3 0.7.5 0.12.10 0.16.13 (109)


Carlton: Gibbs, Tuohy

Brisbane Lions: Nil


Carlton: Betts, Casboult, Duigan, Kreuzer, Robinson, Rowe, White Brisbane Lions: Brown 5, Green 3, Zorko 2, Bewick, Karnezis, McGrath, Polkinghorne, Redden, Rich


Carlton: Lucas, Gibbs, Simpson, Yarran, Kreuzer, Murphy Brisbane Lions: Rich, Zorko, Hanley, Brown, Karnezis, Moloney, Merrett, Green


Carlton: Nil

Brisbane Lions: Nil

Reports: Nil

Umpires: Bannister, Margetts, Jeffery

Official crowd: 24,884 at Etihad Stadium

For full coverage head to

Our Supporters