Captains call on AFLW season

The captains of the eight teams in the NAB AFL Women’s competition have given their predictions on the approaching season, with the Western Bulldogs, Fremantle, Carlton and Collingwood expected to set the pace on field.

In the lead-up to today’s NAB AFL Women’s Competition launch in Melbourne, the eight skippers were anonymously polled on five key questions on how the season will unfold.

The Dogs, Dockers, Blues and Magpies each drew votes on which team could win the first-ever premiership while Daisy Pearce (Melbourne), Kara Donnellan (Fremantle), Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs) and Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows) were predicted by the captains to be the on-field stars.

Australian Opal basketballer Erin Phillips, the daughter of former Port Adelaide and Collingwood champion Greg Phillips, was the standout selection to be the player, of the many coming from other sports into the competition, who would best adapt and star on-field. Phillips has already been named a co-captain for the Crows with Chelsea Randall.

The full survey results were (eight captains polled):

Which Team Will Win The 2017 NAB AFL Women’s Flag?

3 – Western Bulldogs.

2 – Fremantle, Carlton.

1 – Collingwood.

Who Will Win the NAB AFL Women’s Best and Fairest?

3 – Daisy Pearce (Melbourne).

2 – Kara Donnellan (Fremantle), Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs).

1 – Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows).

Who Will Be The Best Player Coming From Another Sport?

3 –Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows/basketball).

1 – Ellie Brush (GWS Giants/soccer), Bree Davey (Carlton/soccer), Gemma Houghton (Fremantle/basketball), Cat Phillips (Melbourne/frisbee), Helen Roden (Collingwood/basketball).

Who Will Top The Goalkicking?

2 – Mo Hope (Collingwood).

1 – Katie Brennan (Western Bulldogs), Mel Caulfield (Fremantle), Ellyse Gamble (Western Bulldogs), Taylor Harris (Brisbane Lions), Sarah Perkins (Adelaide Crows), Darcy Vescio (Carlton).

Who Will Win the NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star?

2 – Ashley Sharp (Fremantle).

1 – Nicola Barr (GWS Giants), Deanna Berry (Melbourne), Jasmine Garner (Collingwood), Shaleise Law (Brisbane Lions), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Hayley Miller (Fremantle).

Our Supporters