Lions Name Game 1 Academy Squad

25 players named for Game 1 match against Gold Coast Suns Talent Academy.

The Brisbane Lions Academy has named 25 players for game 1 against the Gold Coast Suns Talent Academy this Sunday.

The boys will be out to impress as the match is part of the selection process for the AFLQ Scorpions U18 State program.

This weekend’s squad is a product of the Summer Development Program, run by the Lions Academy in partnership with AFL Queensland.

Brisbane Lions Academy Manager Luke Curren said it had been that training for the squad commenced early November, with a total of 53 boys hard at it for 3 sessions a week in preparation for the 2 games against the Suns Academy group.

“Throughout the program we have really focused on developing the boys’ skills, fitness and game education so that the boys are not only well prepared for these games, but also ready to compete on the national stage with the best in Australia at the AFL National U18 Championships later this year,” said, “said Curren.

“Congratulations on to the 25 players selected on behalf of the Academy coaches and staff. It’s pleasing to now be able to see the boys hopefully implement and execute the things we have been working hard on over the past 4 months under the pressure of match conditions.

“Commiserations to the boys who have missed out on game 1 – selection wasn’t an easy process which means the overall standard of the group is high and the pressure is now on those selected to perform at a high level and keep their place in the squad for game 2.”

Brisbane Lions Academy Game 1 Squad

James Ives (Aspley)
Jordan Bain (Redland)
Sam Gribble (Sandgate)
Brian Coleman-Broome (Morningside)
Jono Freeman (Noosa)
Ryan Johnson (Morningside)
Josh Wagner (Aspley)
Isaac Conway (Aspley)
Zac Southern (Nambour)
Aden Rutledge (Sandgate)
Sam Henry (Aspley)
Jesse Wallin (Morningside)
Lochie Dignan (Dalby)
Michalel Wyld (Morningside)
Daniel Daye (Moriningside)
Will Wolbers (Morningside)
Josh Smith (Morningside)
Cain Tickner (Noosa)
Jackson Gray (
Aliir Aliir (Aspley)
Sam Moyle(Toowoomba)
Rhys Power (Morningside)
Tom Overington (Mt Gravatt)
Alex Hall (Morningside)
Lachie Niland-Rowe (Aspley)

Our Supporters