Lions claim inaugural Wheelchair AFL QClash Series!

The Brisbane Lions have claimed the inaugural Wheelchair AFL QClash Series, running out 21-point victors in game three of the series.

It was an inspirational performance by Lions skipper Michael Dobbie-Bridges as he scored 9 of his side’s goals. Tristan Orchard was dominate in the midfield for Brisbane and capped off a stellar series named the Most Valuable Player from the three matches. For the SUNS, captain Stephen French scored six goals as the home teams leading performer in-front of the big sticks. The Lions led by 8-points at the first change and the SUNS hit the lead in the early stages of the second stanza, but a blitz of goals from Dobbie-Bridges and Paul Letters, saw the Lions roar into a handy 23-point at the long break.

Brisbane hit the scoreboard first in the third quarter and hit their rhythm with four straight majors including a ripper via Farhan Ahmedada. From there, the SUNS were able to keep Brisbane goal-less as Andrew Miller, Chris Robson, and French tried lifting Gold Coast. However, the margin was far too great as the Brisbane Lions became the inaugural winners of the Wheelchair AFL QClash Series. One of the feel-good moments of the Series, saw Gold Coast Suns debut Jackson Kirkham in the final stages of the match and Jackson hit the scoreboard with a great team goal in the final sixty seconds of the match.

Brisbane Lions 12.7 (79) def. Gold Coast Suns 8.10 (58)

At the post game ceremony, Tristan Orchard was awarded the series MVP award and the inaugural State team was announced, who will travel to Melbourne in November to represent Queensland.


Queensland Wheelchair AFL Team

  • Michael Dobbie-Bridges
  • Stephen French
  • Paul Letters
  • Kent McKelvie
  • Andrew Miller
  • Tristan Orchard
  • Chris Robson

Thank you to everyone who was involved in either playing, coordinating, or supporting Wheelchair AFL in 2022. Best of a luck to the 2022 State team.

Our Supporters