Kooga U17 Youth Girls State Champs

The 2012 Kooga AFL Under 17 Youth Girls State Championships commence at Watson’s Oval, Cairns, tomorrow Friday October 26.

The Brisbane Flames (Brisbane South East and West), QANTASlink Crusaders (Cape York), Central Coast Cobras (Mackay, Capricornia and Wide Bay), North Queensland Lions (Cairns and Townsville), Southern Stars (Gold Coast, Northern Rivers and Darling Downs) and Suncoast Storm (Sunshine Coast and Brisbane North) will vie for the state title in a three-day, round robin style carnival that will conclude on Sunday October 28.

AFL Queensland Female Programs Manager Julia Price said the strength of this year’s competition reflected the rapid growth of female football.

“Female football is one of the fastest growing sports in Australia and Queensland participation numbers across all of our programs have increased by a massive 332 percent in 2012,” said Price.

“The Kooga AFL Queensland Under 17 Youth Girls Championships bring together the best of our young female talent from across the state and we are expecting the standard of competition to be high.”

Price said that the event would also serve as a warm up to the 2013 AFL National Women’s Championships to be held in Cairns.

“We are thrilled that Cairns has been chosen to host the 2013 AFL National Championships,” she said.

“The best women footballers from throughout the country will gather in Cairns to compete at the highest level and experience the warmth, hospitality and world class tourist attractions of the region.”  

A Queensland Under 18 Squad will be selected at the completion of the Championships, to compete in Under 18 Youth Girls National Championships to be held in Victoria in May.

Match Schedule

All games will be played at North Cairns AFC, Watson’s Oval, McNamara Street, Cairns.

DAY 1 – FRIDAY OCTOBER 26                                                                          

3.00pm            Suncoast Storm v Brisbane Flames                 

4.00pm            NQ Lions v QANTASlink Crusaders              

5.00pm            Central Coast Cobras v Southern Stars            


8.00am            QANTASlink Crusaders v Central Coast Cobras        

9.00am            Brisbane Flames v NQ Lions                          

10.00am          Southern Stars v Suncoast Storm                    

11.00am          QANTASlink Crusaders v Brisbane Flames    

Noon               Suncoast Storm v Central Coast Cobras                      

1.00pm            NQ Lions v Southern Stars                             

3.00pm            QANTASlink Crusaders v Suncoast Storm     

4.00pm            Central Coast Cobras v NQ Lions                   

5.00pm            Southern Stars v Brisbane Flames   


9.00am            Southern Stars v QANTASlink Crusaders       

10.00am          NQ Lions v Suncoast Storm                            

11.00am          Brisbane Flames v Central Coast Cobras

Our Supporters