Jayden Crawley moves back inside the top ten as voting for the Syd Guildford Trophy goes blind

The 2018 Syd Guildford Trophy remains without any clear winner as voting now becomes withheld for the final 5 rounds.

With 14 rounds of the QAFL season in the books, vote announcements will cease until the overall winner is announced at the Grogan Medal on September 16.

Morningside’s Campbell Wearne remains atop the leaderboard however a broken collarbone suffered in Round 13 has placed an injury cloud over his playing status for the remainder of the home and away season.

Surfers Paradise midfielder, Cassidy Haberfield, remains in second place, with just five votes separating first and second in the count although he failed to poll any votes in the Demons’ narrow Round 14 loss to Broadbeach.

Broadbeach’s Blake Erickson remains in third place on 43-votes, but the big-bodied midfielder has polled just once in his past four games.

Meanwhile, Palm Beach Currumbin midfielder, Thomas Thynne who finds himself in fourth place, also faced an unknown future after sustaining an injury at Lions’ training last week.

Panthers’ ruckman Peter Mollison is the big mover inside the top ten having polled 21 of his 37 votes in the past four games.

In Round 14, Mt Gravatt rebounding defender, Jayden Crawley polled seven votes in the Vultures’ win over Labrador and has moved back inside the top ten as a result.

Jack Coghlan (nine votes), Joel Leahy (five) and Sam Stubbs (four) also featured as Mt Gravatt dominated the voting.

The coaches were split in the Lions’ slim victory over the Western Magpies on the weekend with nine individual players earning votes in the game.

Ryan Harwood (six) earned the top-votes in the contest and was accompanied by Lion pair Nicholas Crawley and Zac Harrison (both five) in the count.

Fletcher McIvor (two) was the lone Wilston Grange player to earn votes in the Gorillas’ loss to Morningside.

Sam Godfrey (seven), Ashley Evans, Peter Mollison (both six) and Darcy Cameron-Reeves (five) all earned the praise of both coaches in the voting.

Cat Liam Nelson earned top marks in Broadbeach’s win over Surfers Paradise with a game-high eight votes alongside Demon youngsters Alby Jones (seven) and Samuel Jewell (six) while Broadbeach’s Xavier McMahon polled six from the two coaches.


The Syd Guildford Trophy is awarded to the player judged the best in the competition by the QAFL’s nine coaches.

Voting is conducted by each coach post-game on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn in a game is 10.

In a change from previous years, votes are cumulative. Updates of the Syd Guildford Medal voting will be published on the AFL Queensland website for the first 14 rounds of the season, however following Round 14, votes will go blind.

The winner will be announced at the Grogan Medal Dinner on September 16.

See the full Round 14 votes below:


Surfers Paradise v Broadbeach

8 – Liam Nelson (BB)

7 – Alby Jones (SP)

6 – Samuel Jewell (SP)

6 – Xavier McMahon (BB)

2 – Evan Panozza (BB)

1 – Cody Filewood (SP)


Western Magpies v Palm Beach Currumbin

6 – Ryan Harwood (WM)

5 – Nicholas Crowley (PBC)

5 – Zac Harrison (PBC)

4 – Jackson Emblem (PBC)

4 – Tom Ielasi (WM)

2 – Jason Burge (PBC)

2 – Jonathan Croad (PBC)

1 – Tyler Cornish (PBC)

1 – Jake De Winter (WM)


Mt Gravatt v Labrador

9 – Jack Coghlan (Mt G)

7 – Jayden Crawley (Mt G)

5 – Joel Leahy (Mt G)

4 – Samuel Stubbs (Mt G)

3 – Mitchell Hart (Mt G)

1 – Hayden Greentree (Lab)

1 – Corey McGuren (Mt G)


Morningside v Wilston Grange

7 – Sam Godfrey (Morn)

6 – Ashley Evans (Morn)

6 – Peter Mollison (Morn)

5 – Darcy Cameron-Reeves (Morn)

3 – William Wolbers (Morn)

2 – Fletcher McIvor (WG)

1 – Nathan Beck (Morn)



51 – Campbell Wearne (Morn)

46 – Cassidy Haberfield (SP)

43 – Blake Erickson (BB)

38 – Thomas Thynne (PBC)

37 – Peter Mollison (Morn)

33 – Jayden Crawley (Mt G)

32 – Dyson Budarick (Lab)

31 – Ryan Harwood (WM)

30 – Nathan Beck (Morn)

30 – Jason Burge (PBC)


Photo: BC Sleep Photography

Our Supporters