Harbrow nominated for community award

Gold Coast Suns player Jarrod Harbrow has been nominated for the the inaugural Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award alongside Collingwood Captain Nick Maxwell and Richmond midfielder Daniel Jackson.

The Award honours the former Melbourne Football Club President and champion player who passed away in March this year and will be presented to one of these three finalists at the 2012 Brownlow Medal Ceremony.

Jarrod has been instrumental in championing the Suns’ work in the remote indigenous communities across the state of Queensland and beyond.

In the Far North Queensland community of Bamaga, Jarrod led a contingent of players to achieve the start up of the “No Boundaries Partnership Program” in 2011 which aims to mentor students in at risk communities.

Working with the Queensland government, Jarrod championed the launch of the No Boundaries Indigenous Program in Gold Coast in 2012 to support at risk Indigenous Primary school students.

Jarrod’s outstanding commitment to indigenous communities was demonstrated when he nominated himself to be the Gold Coast Suns Senior Indigenous Ambassador for 2011 and 2012.

This year’s AFL Indigenous Round was made special for the Gold Coast Suns when Jarrod developed and initiated the inaugural Indigenous Cultural awareness session for his fellow teammates and staff.

The session was aimed at raising awareness of indigenous culture by sharing stories and discussing the heritage of each Indigenous player at the Suns.

AFL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Demetriou said the award commemorates Jim Stynes’ tireless service and leadership across the community.

“This award will be bestowed on the AFL player who demonstrates the values of Jim Stynes in his commitment to the community and understanding the value of helping others.

“The AFL is proud of the three finalists’ outstanding contribution to the community, each demonstrating true leadership and initiative.”

“Jim’s brother Brian Stynes will present the award to the winner tomorrow night at the Brownlow Medal, which is a fitting tribute to Jim’s achievement as the 1991 Brownlow medalist,” said Mr. Demetriou.

Nominations were sought from AFL clubs before the selection panel chose the three finalists and the winner who will receive $20,000 from the AFL to be donated to the charity or community program of their choice.

Our Supporters