Thursday  12 August 2010

The Syd Guildford Trophy count promises an intriguing finish when the final month’s votes are revealed on Monday 6 September.

The trophy is presented early on Grogan Medal night, so the two best player awards are announced on the same evening.

While the Grogan is historically the honour every player cherishes, having been awarded since 1946, the Guildford Trophy has gained lustre over the past five years as votes are cast by independent QAFL observers.

When voting went into camera a fortnight ago, Southport captain Danny Wise held a four-vote lead over NT Thunder dynamo Cameron Ilett and a nine-point buffer from Sharks teammate Darren Pfeiffer.

Ilett has enjoyed one outstanding and one reasonable outing since then, while Wise was quiet against Redland but prominent against the Magpies last weekend.

Pfeiffer has been good both weeks, while Jacob Gough, also within striking distance on 19 votes – 12 behind Wise – had a big game last weekend.

Phil Carse, who was on 18 votes, has been in Redland’s best players on both occasions.

The Syd Guildford Trophy and Grogan Medal votes will be counted at the Legend’s Room at the Gabba on the Monday of preliminary final week.

More members will also be added to the Queensland Australian Football Hall of Fame on the night.

Our Supporters