Grogan Medal Night Wrap

The Western Magpies’ Callum Carseldine claimed the 2015 Grogan Medal, the QAFL’s highest individual footballing honour on Sunday night.

Carseldine, who missed the entire 2014 season following a knee reconstruction, finished the year on 24 votes, three ahead of Wilston Grange’s Steven Brittain on 21.

Morningside’s Lachlan Russ finished third with 18 votes ahead of UQ coach Darren Pfeiffer, and Sandgate’s Thomas Overington who polled 15.

Carseldine hasn’t missed a beat in 2015. His inside grunt work has been a major factor in the Magpies’ success this year.

The Co-Captain has been able to play both inside and outside in the Magpies’ midfield this year.

He polled nine votes in the first five rounds to be joint leader with Russ, who then lead at the round 10 mark by one vote over Carseldine.

Carseldine polled nine votes across the next five rounds, to be six votes out in front, and in a difficult position to catch in the last three rounds.

Carseldine’s qualities were not missed by the coaches either, nominated for the Syd Guildford award, which was taken out by Wilston Grange’s Steven Brittain.

Mt Gravatt’s Todd Carbone claimed the QAFL Rising Star after an electric 2015 in the midfield.

Labrador’s Josh Baxter took out the Ray Hughson Medal, as the QAFL’s leading goal kicker, with 68 goals.

Morningside and Labrador shared the leading number of representatives in QAFL team of the year, with five each.

Christopher Ryan, Adam Clarke, Bill Hicks, Josh Baxter, and Josh Fraser were all selected for Labrador, while Morningside had Nathan Kinch, Ryley Buntain, Lachlan Russ, Kent Abey and Alastair Nash in the side.

Carseldine was named in the centre line, alongside teammates Matthew Davis, Luke Scott and Val Pope.

Eric Kuret, Bradie Foster and Steven Brittain flew the flag for Wilston Grange, while Palm Beach Currumbin had Josh Woolley and Todd Bryant in the team.

Darren Pfeiffer was UQ’s sole representative, while Thomas Overington (Sandgate) and Todd Carbone (Mt Gravatt) were recognised for impressive seasons.

Labrador had their fair share of winners on the night, with Steve Daniel taking out QAFL Coach of the Year as well as the State Community Coach of the Year, and the Tigers winning the Alpha Sport Club of the Year.

For a second year, the QAFL shared the spotlight with the Queensland Women’s Australian Football League (QWAFL) awards, highlighting some of Queensland’s top female footballers.

In a dramatic vote count, Coorparoo’s Emma Zilke went back to back in the QWAFL Best and Fairest, sharing the award on 22 votes with last year’s runner up, Yeronga’s Jordan Zanchetta.

Coolangatta-Tweed’s Leah Kaslar was the runaway leader early, sitting on 16 votes by round 10, and 20 votes by round 15, but Zielke and Zanchetta stormed home late to share the prize.

Both players starred for the Western Bulldog’s in this year’s AFL Women’s Exhibition games.

UQ’s Marley Beaven was crowned the QWAFL Rising Star, after impressing in just her first season of AFL.

Hayley Newberry from Yeronga took out the QWAFL Goal Kicking Award, with 52 goals this year.

Yeronga headed the pack in the QWAFL Team of the Year, with six representatives.

Coorparoo and Coolangatta-Tweed were the next best, with five members each.

Yeronga’s Scott Stephens won the QWAFL/QWAFA Coach of the Year, after taking the Devils to the finals this year.

Alice Micklewright was awarded the QWAFL Vlub Volunteer of the Year, while Broadbeach’s Wayne Sauer was presented with the QAFL Club Volunteer of the Year.

Merv Lurhmann and Tim Gillespie were presented with the AFL Merit Award for their contribution to the game.



Grogan Medal
Callum Carseldine (Western Magpies) 24 votes

Syd Guildford Trophy
Steven Brittain (Wilston Grange)

QAFL Rising Star
Todd Carbone (Mt Gravatt)

Ray Hughson Medal (QAFL Leading Goal Kicker)
Josh Baxter (Labrador) – 68 goals

Bill Clerke Medal (QAFL Reserves Best and Fairest)
Bradley Green (Labrador)

QAFL Reserves Leading Goal Kicker
Mickey Abbey (Labrador) 43 Goals

QAFL Coach of the year
Steve Daniel (Labrador)

QAFL Team of the Year

B: Nathan Kinch (Morningside), Ryley Buntain (Morningside), Matthew Davis (Western Magpies)

HB: Luke Scott (Western Magpies), Christopher Ryan (Labrador), Josh Woolley (Palm Beach Currumbin)

C: Adam Clarke (Labrador), Callum Carseldine (Western Magpies), Bill Hicks (Labrador)

HF: Darren Pfeiffer (UQ), Josh Baxter (Labrador), Steven Brittain (Wilston Grange)

F: Lachlan Russ (Morningside), Kent Abey (Morningside), Val Pope (Western Magpies)

Foll: Bradie Foster (Wilston Grange), Eric Kuret (Wilston Grange), Todd Bryant (Palm Beach Currumbin)

Int: Josh Fraser (Labrador), Thomas Overington (Sandgate), Todd Carbone (Mt Gravatt), Alastair Nash (Morningside)

Alpha Sports Club of the Year
Labrador Tigers

QWAFL Best and Fairest
Emma Zielke (Coorparoo), Jordan Zanchetta, (Yeronga) – 22 votes

QWAFL Leading Goal kicker
Hayley Newberry (Yeronga) 52 Goals

QWAFL Rising Star
Marley Beaven (UQ)

QWAFL Coach of the Year
Scott Stephens (Yeronga)

QWAFL Team of the Year

B: Bethany Pinchin (Coolangatta-Tweed), Shannon Campbell (Wilston Grange), Sam Virgo (Griffith Moorooka)

HB: Cailtin Collins (Yeronga), Rachel Crack (Coorparoo), Emily Bates, (Yeronga)

C: Maddy Roberts (Coolangatta-Tweed), Breanna Koenen (University of QLD) Regan Winterbottom (Yeronga)

HF: Brie Weatherstone (Wilston Grange), Tayla Harris (Zillmere), Jade Ransfield (Yeronga)

F: Rosie Adamson (Coolangatta-Tweed), Mackenzie Arnold (Coorparoo), Hayley Newberry (Yeronga)

Foll: Leah Kaslar (Coolangatta-Tweed), Jordan Zanchetta (Yeronga), Megan Hunt (Coorparoo)

Int: Sheena Sidin (Coorparoo), Emma Zielke (Coorparoo), Ally Anderson (Zillmere), Jordan Membrey (Coolangatta-Tweed)

QWAFL Club Volunteer of the Year
Alice Micklewright (Coolangatta-Tweed)

QAFL Club Volunteer of the Year
Wayne Sauer (Broadbeach)

QWAFL Club Administrator of the Year
Sinead Hastie (UQ)

QAFL Club Administrator of the Year
Peter McLennan (Western Magpies)

Jo Butland Medal (Women’s Representative Player of the Year)
Emily Bates (Yeronga)

Zane Taylor Medal (Men’s Representative Player of the Year)
Adam Spackman (Morningside)

Queensland State Representative Coach of the Year
John Blair

Boy’s All-Australian
Ben Keays (Redland/Morningside), Jacob Allison (Aspley), Eric Hipwood (Caloundra/Aspley)

Girls’ All-Australian
Gabby Collingwood (Jindalee), Tayla Harris (Zillmere), Elisha King (North Cairns), Tahlia Randall (Nambour/Maroochydore), Shaleise Law (South Toowoomba), Delma Gisu (Thuringowa)

State Assistant Coach of the Year
Daniel Webster

State Youth Talent Coach of the Year
David Ashkar (Gold Coast U16)

State Youth Coach of the Year
Chris Larkin (Burleigh)

State Community Coach of the Year
Steve Daniel (Labrador)

Brian Douge Medal (Queensland Inclusion Team Best and Fairest)
Luke O’Neill

AFL Inclusion Carnival Best Player
Graydon Poulsen

All Australian Inclusion Team
Graydon Poulsen

Graydon Poulsen Award (club assistance recognition award)
University of Queensland

AFL Merit Award
Murv Lurhmann (Darling Downs), Tim Gillespie (Aspley)

Our Supporters