GPS Schools Grand Final Night preview

Some of the best school football for the year will be played at Yeronga AFC this Friday night.

The GPS Division of the AFL SportsReady Queensland Independent Schools competition is drawing to a close with some closely contested games and future stars of the game emerging.

The pinnacle of the competition for the GPS Schools involved, the night will include the best AFL players from each school contesting the three premierships on offer.

It is a popular carnival night with hundreds of parents, families, fellow students and supporters expected to attend and to support their school.

So who is contesting all the divisions? We look at the three finals in more detail:

FIRST XVIII – Jason Dunstall Cup 7:00pm

Nudgee v Churchie

Last year’s Grand Final replay promises to be a fast paced and exciting game when the undefeated Nudgee takes on a resurgent Churchie in the centrepiece match for the night. Nudgee has been undefeated and goes in to the final as firm favourites. With the likes of Captain Casey Brittain, Josh Elmslie, Pat Keating and Dominic Ceolin performing well during the season, they will be hard to beat. Churchie also have a strong team with several of their better players returning from injury. It will be a revitalised team that takes the field Friday led by Darcy Cameron-Reeves, Henry Logan, the McDowall-White brothers, and the dangerous Declan Smith up forward.

SENIOR – Stephen Lawrence Shield 5:45pm 

BBC v Nudgee

Nudgee will be hoping to go one better this year after narrowly missing out on the 2012 title by a solitary point. Both Nudgee and BBC were runaway leaders in this year’s Senior competition with BBC finishing on top undefeated. Players to watch for in the final on Friday include BBC’s Nat Carswell, Jack Sherry, Sam Medhurst and Lachie Dennis, who have all showed consistent form throughout the season while Nudgee will be well represented by the likes of Lenny Christie, Joe Grela, Arthur Wilson and Sam Armstrong.

JUNIOR – Clint Bizzell Cup 4:30pm

BBC v Churchie

The boys from BBC hold an amazing record in their last three seasons together as a team. Since they first came together in Year 7, no team has been able to score even a solitary point against this group of boys, until Nudgee did this year, even with BBC depleted to 16 players. Churchie have a hard task ahead of them to stop this juggernaut from continuing to roll on, however their emerging talent have finished the season well and will no doubt make BBC work hard for a win. Players to watch include BBC’s Jack Clayton, Max Webber and Will Fletcher, as well as Churchie’s Darcy Marsh, Charlie Johnson, Mac Herring and Casey Voss.

It is sure the be an entertaining night of school football, and we once again thank our fantastic sponsor, AFL SportsReady, for their tremendous support this season assisting AFL Queensland to run the competition.

Our Supporters