CHAMPION Noosa midfielder Lucas Matthews has taken the Duncanson-Todd Medal for best and fairest player in the Pineapple Hotel Cup.
Matthews, who landed Aspley’s best and fairest award in the QAFL in 2009, scored the prestigious honour with 19 votes at a count at Royal on the Park in Brisbane on Monday night.

By Terry Wilson

The rugged ball magnet did not receive an umpires’ vote over the first six rounds, but then earned five three-votes and two two-votes over the remaining fixtures.
Matthews won by two from Western Magpies bolter Reid Dobson and Noosa team-mate Caleb Isles, who both were awarded three votes in round 18.
Finishing in fourth spot on 14 was Wilston-Granges Lee Smith, ahead of another Magpie in Chris Judson on 12.
A surprise omission from the top of the leader board was Palm Beach-Currumbin ace James Drake, who attracted only eight umpires’ votes for the season.
And last year’s Medal winner, PBC’s Brad Horn, was well down the list on five votes.
Drake, though, finished on top in another individual award, the Bill Ryan Trophy. He polled 30 votes to win by one from talented Sandgate on-baller Brad Beaven.
Sharing third spot were Jarrod Gale (Maroochy-Northshore) and Danny Brewster (Noosa) on 26 votes.
Matthews was midfield with 16 votes in this award, but he made it a double on the night when named the competition’s most valuable player in a contest where rival coaches rate opposition players.
Matthews was named first or second by seven of the 10 coaches and finished with 17 voters, beating Drake who finished on 13.


2000: Dean Parkin (Western Magpies).
2001: Jason Jeffrey (Coolangatta).
2002: Brett Ayton (Sandgate).
2003: Glen Hales (Yeronga).
2004: Rob Lucas (Northshore).
2005: Andrew Housego (Mayne).
2006: Ryan White (Maroochy-Northshore).
2007: Simon Fenton (Surfers Paradise).
2008: Ryan White (Maroochy-Northshore).
2009: Luke Tyrrell (Noosa).
2010: Brad Horn (Palm Beach-Currumbin).
2011: Lucas Matthews (Noosa).

Other awards presented were the Reserves B&F which was a three way tie between Brendan Wulf from Noosa, Clayton Barnes from Springwood and Brett McEvoy from the Western Magpies.

The Pineapple Hotel “Future Star” Award was presented to Thomas Overington from Sandgate

Our Supporters