Friday Night Live

A Queensland representative team will take on the Western Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL) in a cracking Friday Night Live double header at Yeronga on June 3.

A  North Queensland vs. South Queensland Masters match, made up of players over the age of 45, will curtain-raise the main clash, which is part of the Queensland 150 Year Anniversary celebrations.

The initial Queensland squad is made up of 41 players who are listed to QAFL clubs, and four who have shared their time between the NEAFL and QAFL this year.

A final team of 23 will be named on Wednesday June 1.

Aspley’s John Blair will coach the Queensland side, supported by Morningside’s David Lake (chairman of selectors) and Western Magpies Peter McLennan (selector and team manager).

“It’s a huge honour, especially in the 150th year,” Blair said.

“This game is hugely important; players have to understand the importance of it, and the opportunity that is there for them.

“There are guys that have gone on to make AFL careers out of playing well in state games, it got Zorko into the picture, as it did Sam Gilbert and Adam Oxley, so the reward is there to perform on the day.”

The event will feature AFL9s, NAB AFL Auskick and a jumping castle for the kids.

Entry is free with parking available in surrounding streets.

Leyshon Park, Cansdale St, Yeronga.
Friday, June 3.

5:15pm North Queensland vs. South Queensland Masters Exhibition Match

7:00pm  Queensland vs. Western Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL)


First Name Surname Club
Jason Ainsworth Aspley/Sandgate
Nathan Quick Broadbeach
Matthew Daniel Labrador
Bill Hicks Labrador
Bryce Retzlaff Labrador
Thomas Thorsen Labrador
Jayden Young Labrador
Ryley Buntain Morningside
Joseph Dalton Morningside
Ashley Evans Morningside
Matthew Logan Morningside
Peter Mollison Morningside
Alastair Nash Morningside
Todd Carbone Mt Gravatt
Rhys Estall Mt Gravatt
Andrew Smith Mt Gravatt
Jonathan Croad Palm Beach Currumbin
Jesse Derrick Palm Beach Currumbin
Jarryd Douglas Palm Beach Currumbin
Jackson Emblem Palm Beach Currumbin
Samuel Godfrey Redland/Mt Gravatt
Soul Cormick Sandgate
Connor Stackleberg Sandgate/Aspley
Harrison Fraser Surfers Paradise
Daniel Green Surfers Paradise
John Macansh Surfers Paradise
Fraser Pope Surfers Paradise
Ben Woolford Surfers Paradise
George Hannaford University of Queensland
Callum Carseldine Western Magpies
Luke Scott Western Magpies
Steven Brittain Wilston Grange
Fletcher McIvor Wilston Grange/Aspley
Lachlan Nixon-Smith Wilston Grange


Our Supporters