Erickson, Groves-Little and Gibson claim Grogan Medal top honours

By Larrissa Mouttou

In his first full season at QAFL level, Broadbeach midfielder Blake Erickson has taken out the 2018 Grogan Medal.

Erickson was awarded the maximum three votes in Cats victories in Rounds 1, 5 and 8. He went on to confirm his win with two votes in the final round to finish the season on 20, ahead of runner up Jason Burge from Palm Beach Currumbin who finished the season with 18 votes.

A Nelson Bay junior, Erickson joined the Cats after spending the last three seasons with Southport’s NEAFL side. The 25 year old was a standout in the Cat’s engine room as the club climbed to their first top two finish since 2006.

Burge (18 votes), bothers Brody (14 votes) and Cassidy (13 votes) Haberfield and Fowler (12 votes) rounded out the top five.

In the QWAFL competition Tori Groves-Little and Brittany Gibson were awarded joint Best & Fairest honours, both finishing the season with 12 votes.

It was Gibson who established an early lead in the vote tally, recording her 12 votes by Round 13. Groves-Little had a slower start but came home strong to tie for the QWAFL’s top accolade.

2018 was Groves-Little’s first season at Senior level, joining Coorparoo after playing junior football for Beenleigh. At just 17 years of age, she played in the All Stars and NAB AFLW Under 18 Exhibition matches this year.

A natural leader, Gibson’s on field presence has been a defining factor in her success in both the AFLW and with Wilston Grange at QWAFL level. After starting her football career in Tasmania she will return there in 2019 to join North Melbourne’s AFLW side.

Surman (11 votes), Gisu (9 votes) and Frederick-Traub (9 votes) rounded out the women’s top five.

Brisbane girl and Wilston Grange defensive powerhouse Kate Lutkins was awarded the QWAFL Most Valuable Player Award, as voted by Coaches.

2016 QAFL Rising Star recipient Cassidy Haberfield from Surfers Paradise took out the 2018 Syd Guildford Trophy after catching the Coaches’ eyes in 12 of his 16 matches. The Syd Guildford Trophy is awarded to the QAFL most valued player, as voted by Coaches.

Winners gallery can be found here.

2018 AFL Queensland Grogan Medal Awards Winners

2018 Volunteer of the Year Awards
The QWAFL and QAFL Volunteer of the Year is awarded based on the following qualities; positive impact on their club, leadership and team work, mentoring and promoting a healthy culture that provides a fair, safe and inclusive environment.

QWAFL Winner: Marnie McGorm, University of Queensland
QAFL Winner: Beck Watters, Labrador

2018 Administrator of the Year Awards
The QWAFL and QAFL Administrator of the Year is awarded to a club administrator who demonstrates positive impact on their club, leadership and team work, mentoring and promoting a healthy culture that provides a fair, safe and inclusive environment.

QAFL Colts Winner: Lee Hughes, Wilston Grange
QWAFL Winner: Warren Day , Maroochydore
QAFL Winner: John Rankin, Surfers Paradise

2018 Leading Goal Kickers

QAFL Colts Winner: Alexander Crow, Broadbeach (34 goals)
QAFL Reserves Winner: Tayler Rolfe, Broadbeach (51 goals)
QWAFL Winner: Jenae Goven, Coorparoo (33 goals)
QAFL Winner: Matthew Fowler, Broadbeach (57 goals)

2018 Mark of the Year

QWAFL Winner: Brianna McFarlane, Coolangatta Tweed
QAFL Winner: Jakob De Winter, Western Magpies

2018 Goal of the Year

QWAFL Winner: Sabrina Frederick-Traub, Wilston Grange
QAFL Winner: John Anthony, Palm Beach Currumbin

2018 QWAFL Team of the Year

FB: Shannon Campbell (Wilston Grange), Bethany Pinchin (Coolangatta), Emily Bliss (Yeronga South Brisbane)
HB: Paige Parker (Coorparoo), Kate Lutkins (Wilston Grange), Breanna Koenan (University of Queensland)
C: Maddy Roberts (Coolangatta Tweed)
HF: Kayla Geddes (Coorparoo), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (University of Queensland), Jessica Wuetschner (Coorparoo)
F: Tori Groves-Little (Coorparoo), Jenae Goven (Coorparoo), Jamie Stanton (Wilston Grange)
Foll: Emma McKenzie (Coorparoo), Jacqueline Yorston (Wilston Grange), Brittany Gibson (Wilston Grange)
Inter: Natalie Grider (University of Queensland), Isabel Dawes (Wilston Grange), Sharni Webb (University of Queensland), Lauren Bella (Bond University), Delma Gisu (Wilston Grange), Kate Surman (Maroochydore)

Coach: Laura Kidd (Wilston Grange)
Captain: Kate Lutkins (Wilston Grange)

2018 QAFL Team of the Year

FB: Adam McKenzie (Palm Beach Currumbin), Nathan Beck (Morningside), Brody Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)
HB: Wayde Mills (Labrador), Jayden Crawley (Mt Gravatt), Josh Woolley (Palm Beach Currumbin)
C: Joel Leahy (Mt Gravatt), Blake Erickson (Broadbeach), Ryan Pantic (Broadbeach)
HF: Tyler Cornish (Palm Beach Currumbin), Bryce Retzlaff (Labrador), Ryan Harwood (Western Magpies)
F: Nicholas Burton (Broadbeach), Matthew Fowler (Broadbeach), John Anthony (Palm Beach Currumbin)
Foll: Peter Mollison (Morningside), Jason Burge (Palm Beach Currumbin), Cassidy Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)
Inter: Jack Prestegar (Surfers Paradise), Thomas Thyme (Palm Beach Currumbin), Ashley Evans (Morningside), Andrew Smith (Mt Gravatt)

Coach: Brad Moore (Surfers Paradise)
Captain: Brody Haberfield (Surfers Paradise)

2018 Rising Star

QWAFL Winner: Natalie Grider, University of Queensland
QAFL Winner: Riley Easton, Western Magpies

QWAFL Most Valued Player
The QWAFL MVP is awarded to the most valued players as voted by Coaches.

2018 Winner: Kate Lutkins, Wilston Grange

Syd Guildford Trophy
The Syd Guildford Trophy if awarded to the QAFL Most Valued Player, as voted by Coaches’.

2018 Winner: Cassidy Haberfield, Surfers Paradise

Keith Wallis Medal
The Keith Wallis Medal is awarded to the QAFL Colts Best & Fairest player.

2018 Winner: Jake Chapman, Morningside (14 votes)

Bill Clerke Medal
The Bill Clerke Medal is awarded to the QAFL Reserves Best & Fairest player.

2018 Winner: Tayler Rolfe, Broadbeach (21 votes)

2018 QWAFL Best & Fairest Leader Board

12                 Brittany Gibson, Wilston Grange
12                 Tori Groves-Little, Coorparoo
11                 Kate Surman, Maroochydore
9                   Delma Gisu, Wilston Grange
9                   Sabrina Frederick-Traub, University of Queensland
8                   Jacqueline Yorston, Wilston Grange
7                   Kayla Geddes, Coorparoo
7                   Samantha Hurst, Coorparoo
7                   Lauren James, Coolangatta Tweed
7                   Jordan Zanchetta, Yerongs South Brisbane

2018 Grogan Medal Leader Board

20               Blake Erickson, Broadbeach
18               Jason Burge, Palm Beach Currumbin
14               Brody Haberfield, Surfers Paradise
13               Cassidy Haberfield, Surfers Paradise
12               Matthew Fowler, Broadbeach
11               Tyler Cornish, Palm Beach Currumbin
11               Campbell Wearne, Morningside
10               John Anthony, Palm Beach Currumbin
10               Nicholas Crowley, Palm Beach Currumbin
9                 Drew Mitcherll, Western Magpies
9                 Andrew Smith, Mt Gravatt

Our Supporters