Bond University QWAFL Fixture Released

AFL Queensland today announced the fixture for the 2017 Bond University Queensland Women’s Australian Football League (QWAFL), which kicks off on April 1.

Newcomer Maroochydore Roos join existing QWAFL clubs Wilston Grange, Zillmere, University of Queensland, Yeronga, Coolangatta Tweed and Coorparoo in a new look competition.

The QWAFL will continue to be a seniors-only competition in 2017, with a Queensland Women’s Football Association (QWFA) Division 1 competition introduced to underpin the QWAFL, and QWFA Division 2 and QWFA Northern Rivers to cater for teams with a participation focus.

QWAFL lists will be capped in a bid to create a genuine high performance women’s competition to underpin the AFL Women’s league.

Female Football Competition and Club Development Manager, Fiona Jones, said there was a genuine buzz about the restructured competition.

“It’s an exciting time for female football, with the Bond University QWAFL moving into the high performance space,” said Jones.

“Clubs will have more support staff, a higher level of training and coaching; and provide a direct pathway into the AFLW.

“The introduction of list management rules will support the high performance pathway; spreading talent among clubs to create a highly competitive environment.”
Another newcomer to the QWAFL is naming rights sponsor Bond University, who will officially launch the new partnership next month.

2017 Highlights include:

  • Round 7:  2016 Grand Final rematch Coolangatta v Yeronga.
  • Nine Men and Women’s double headers featuring University of Queensland, Maroochydore,
    Coorparoo  and Yeronga.
  • Round 6:  Coorparoo vs.  UQ Friday Night Bites (food market at Coorparoo).

Finals start on August 12/13 with the grand final on the weekend of August 26/27.

Bond University QWAFL fixture attached.

Our Supporters