Aspley & Yeronga win Lions Cup

Brisbane’s Yeronga State High School and Aspley State High School were the big winners at the recent Brisbane Lions Cup.

Yeronga’s athleticism ensured the team went undefeated on the final day, defeating four other State High Schools to take the 2014 Division Two title.

Mabior Chol was outstanding for Yeronga and claimed the Most Valuable Player medallion for Division Two.

Aspley State High School (pictured) claimed the Division Three title after a terrific battle with reigning champions Corinda State High School.

Aspley’s Ethan Hira was busy around the ground in their final and was awarded best player for Division Three.

Run as a series of carnival days in Terms One and Two, senior secondary schools vie for the Division Two and Three premierships, played as a shortened ‘lightning’ format.

With Division One containing the Schools of AFL Excellence, this competition gives other schools the chance to play others of a similar standard whilst introducing many new faces to our game.

Our Supporters