Taking you around footy grounds across Queensland.

This week we’re heading to Neil French Oval,Townsville.

Yesterday, saw the 8th running of the Garbutt Magpies Cup – with 17 primary schools from across the AFL Townsville region getting involved.

Prior to the event, and in a special tradition, Aboriginal Elders from Garbutt Magpies visited the participating schools to talk about the long and rich history of the club.

The club, which was founded in 1956, does terrific work in the community and provides a safe place for young men and women to connect, whilst enjoying footy.

It was a top day all round that came down to a nail-biting final with Southern Cross Catholic School 1.4 (10) defeating Willows State Schools 1.3 (9)

Congratulations to all involved!


2021 Garbutt Magpies Cup Participating Schools

  • Currajong State School
  • Bohlevale State School
  • Southern Cross Catholic School
  • Ryan Catholic School
  • Garbutt State School
  • Willows State School
  • Kirwan State School
  • Magnetic Island State School
  • Vincent State School
  • Cranbrook State School
  • Rasmussen State School
  • Kelso State School
  • Ingham State School
  • Annandale State School
  • Shalom Christian College
  • Hermit Park State School
  • Ayr State School


Our Supporters