Allied Pickfords Cup Team of the Year

The Allied Pickfords Team of the year was announced at the Duncanson Todd Medal night.

Wilston Grange’s Steve Brittain capped off a sensational season, named as  captain of the Allied Pickfords Cup Team of the Year.

The midfielder, who also won the league’s MVP award, has been a standout for Grange all season.

Brittain was one of three Wilston Grange representatives in the side, the equal-highest of any team in the competition.

Teammates, Mathew Stevens and Benjamin Haire, were both named on the interchange.

Preliminary finalists, Palm Beach Currumbin, also had three players included in the side, all in the back line.

Jesse Derrick and Jackson Emblem were included in the back pocket and at fullback, respectively, while Duncanson Todd medallist, Zane Murphy, was named on the half-back flank.

Coolangatta also had three players in the side, reflective of some individual brilliance this season.

Blues player-coach, Daniel Hawkins, was named at centre half-back, while his teammate David Lynch was named as ruck-rover and Jack Ryan as the side’s full-forward.

Springwood’s Mark Thompson and Albert Proud were the two players selected from the minor premiers, Proud on the wing and Thompson in the forward pocket.

Jimmy Rozynski and Anthony Corrie were the two Western Magpies representatives, at half back flank and centre half-forward, respectively.

Surfers Paradise stalwart, Simon Fenton, was named in the back pocket, while Ryan Dienjes was the other Demon representative, at half-forward flank.

Maroochydore captain, Michael Roberts was named in the middle, with fellow Roo, Jed Turner, named in the ruck.

Hugh Millikan (UQ), Hugh Priest (Burleigh), Tom Overington (Sandgate), Shaun Daly (Mayne) and Caleb Isles (Noosa) were the sole representatives from their sides.

As the minor premiership coach, Springwood’s Tony King was named the coach of the team.

Field umpire, Brendan Hunter, was named as the umpire of the year as part of the team of the year awards.

The full team of the year:

B: Jesse Derrick (PBC), Jackson Emblem (PBC), Simon Fenton (Surfers),

HB: Zane Murphy (PBC), Daniel Hawkins (Cool), James Rozynski (Magpies)

C: Albert Proud (Springwood), Michael Roberts (Maroochydore), Hugh Priest (Burleigh)

HF: Steve Brittain (Grange- Captain), Anthony Corrie (Magpies), Ryan Dienjes (Surfers Paradise)

F: Hugh Millikan (UQ), Jack Ryan (Coolangatta), Mark Thompson (Springwood)

FOLL: Jed Turner (Maroochydore), David Lynch (Coolangatta), Caleb Isles (Noosa)

INT: Benjamin Haire (Grange), Tom Overington (Sandgate), Shaun Daly (Mayne), Mathew Stevens (Grange).

Coach: Tony King (Springwood)

Umpire: Brendan Hunter.

Our Supporters