New SEQ women’s structure announced

AFL Queensland today announced a new look South East Queensland senior women’s football competition structure for 2017.

The new model, which was developed in consultation with existing clubs, caters for participants at all levels and paves the way for the continued growth.

Highlights of the four-competition structure includes 11 new teams; the QWAFL as a genuine high-performance competition to underpin AFL Women’s; a second-tier competition catering for clubs and players aspiring to play in the QWAFL; and an all-female grand final day to cap off the season.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, said the competition overhaul was a response to the rapid growth of female football and the introduction of the AFL Women’s competition.

“Thirty-eight per cent of Queensland participants are female, which is a great result for our clubs and programs,” said Gibson.

“In addition to the grassroots growth, the successful launch of AFL Women’s has made clubs appreciate the need to have a defined pathway for those aspiring to play at the highest level.

“To that end, we’ve introduced list management rules that are conducive to increasing the standard of the QWAFL and ensuring our existing and aspiring AFL Women’s players have a genuine second tier competition to participate in.”

Gibson said the support of community clubs had been crucial in determining the future direction of the competition.

“It’s a credit to our existing clubs that they had the foresight to understand the structure needed to change to allow us to cater for players and clubs at all levels well into the future,” he said.

“There’s been a lot of hard work to get to this point; the female space is evolving at a rapid pace and we are putting ourselves in the best position to evolve with it.”


QWAFL (Queensland Women’s Australian Football League)
High performance competition underpinning AFL Women’s.

The entry of Maroochydore sees a seven team QWAFL, with Coolangatta, Yeronga, Wilston Grange, Zillmere, University of Queensland and Coorparoo returning in 2017.

The competition has a new look, with the introduction of capped lists with teams permitted to sign up to 30 primary and 6 rookie listed players.

A feature of the new list management rules is the opportunity at the start of the season for QWAFL players to nominate a QWFA Division 1 team who they can play for if not selected at the top level.

QWFA (Queensland Women’s Football Association) Division 1
Second tier competition for players and clubs with QWAFL aspirations.

Eleven teams will battle it out in QWFA Division, with newcomer Aspley joining established teams Coolangatta, Burleigh, Bond University, Jindalee, Yeronga, Coorparoo, University of Queensland, Wilston Grange, Moreton Bay and Maroochydore.

QWFA (Queensland Women’s Football Association) Division 2
Participation based competition for new and developing players and clubs.

The new QWFA Division 2 is designed for entry level clubs and players, as well as those just wanting to participate in a community club environment.

The competition provides opportunity for women from the Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast and Brisbane with Broadbeach, Coomera – Beenleigh, Kedron, Sandgate, Pine Rivers, Hinterland and Gympie entering teams.

QWFA (Queensland Women’s Football Association) Northern Rivers

With interest in the female game soaring, AFL Queensland’s women’s competition footprint is expanding at a rapid rate across the State.

This season will see the birth of the QWFA Northern Rivers, with Lismore, Ballina and Tweed making their first foray into the female competition space.

The QWAFL, QWFA Northern Rivers and QWFA Division 1 kick off on April 1, and QWFA Division 2 starting April 29.


QWAFL QWFA D1 QWFA D2 QWFA Northern Rivers
Coolangatta Coolangatta Broadbeach Lismore
Yeronga Burleigh Coomera – Beenleigh Ballina
Coorparoo Bond University Kedron Tweed
University of Queensland Jindalee Sandgate
Wilston Grange Yeronga Pine Rivers
Zillmere Coorparoo Hinterland
Maroochydore University of Queensland Gympie
Wilston Grange
Moreton Bay

Our Supporters