Coleman Makes 22 Under 22 Team

Submitted by Peter Blucher

Brisbane Lions defender Keidean Coleman is flying the flag for Queensland football in the 2022 AFLPA 22Under22 Team of the Year.

The Indigenous 22-year-old, from the Wynnum Vikings via Morningside and the Lions Academy, was effectively voted Queensland’s #1 player aged 22 or younger by the football public.

This came after North Melbourne’s Bailey Scott, a member of the 40-man 22Under22 squad chosen this year by ex-Fremantle and Gold Coast player Michael Barlow, with support from the AFLPA and Champion Data, missed final selection.

Coleman was the only Lions player included, while the Suns’ Noah Anderson and Izak Rankine added to the Queensland flavor with inclusion in a side captained by Fremantle’s Andrew Brayshaw.

Coleman, who has become a vital cog in the Brisbane defensive unit in his third AFL season, has become just the fifth Queenslander chosen in the annual 22Under22 Team of the Year, which was introduced in 2011 and sees the public vote on the final team from a squad nominated by the AFLPA.

Dayne Beams was the first Queensland selection in 2012 when playing with Collingwood. He was followed by the Gold Coast Suns’ Rory Thompson in 2013 before Lions pair Harris Andrews and Eric Hipwood, prize products of the 2014 AFL Draft, were included in 2017-18-19.

Overall, the Suns have had the biggest representation in the 22Under22 Team of the Year with 25. Others have been Jaeger O’Meara (2013), Tom Nicholls (2013), Dion Prestia (2013-14), Trent McKenzie (2013-14), David Swallow (2014), Steven May (2014), Harley Bennell (2014), Kade Kolodjashnij (2014-15), Tom Lynch (2015), Jack Martin (2016-17), Peter Wright (2017), Jack Lukosius (2020-21), Will Powell (2021), Ben King (2020-21) and Rankine (2020-22).

The Lions have had seven other inclusions – Jack Redden (2012), Alex Witherden (2018-19), Hugh McCluggage (2019-20), Zac Bailey (2021) and Brandon Starcevich (2021).


The 2022 22Under22 team is:

B: Hayden Young (Frem), Sam DeKoning (Geel), Nick Blakey (Syd)

HB: Nick Daicos (Coll), Tom McCartin (Syd), Jordan Clark (Frem)

C: Noah Anderson (GC), Andrew Brayshaw (Frem), Adam Cerra (Carl)

HF: Connor Rozee (Port), Aaron Naughton (WB), Jack Ginnivan (Coll)

F: Kysaiah Pickett (Melb), Max King (StK), Izak Rankine (GC)

R: Luke Jackson (Melb), Sam Walsh (Carl), Bailey Smith (WB)

INT: Chad Warner (Syd), Caleb Serong (Frem), Isaac Quaynor (Coll), Keidean Coleman (Bris).


Peter is a consultant for Vivid Sport.

Our Supporters