2016 Queensland team announced

AFL Queensland has announced a final 25-man squad to take on the Western Australian Amateur Football League (WAAFL) tomorrow night, Friday June 3 at Leyshon Park Yeronga.

The game gets underway at 7:00pm, with a South East Queensland vs. North Queensland Masters exhibition match to raise the curtain from 5:10pm.

The match is a key event in the celebrations for the 150th Year Anniversary of Football in Queensland.

AFL Queensland State Football Operations Manager, Barry Gibson, says the balance of the team is a perfect representation of Queensland footy.

“We were extremely fortunate that the players selected in the initial state squad genuinely bought into the program. This allowed us to select a team that will showcase the depth of talent we have in Queensland footy,” Gibson said.

“The team boasts a good mix of youth and experience. Similarly, the balance of body types we have allows us to be adaptable on the night in regard on the make-up of the opposition and the conditions.

“It’s pleasing to see emerging talent like Fletcher McIvor, Soul Cormick, Harrison Fraser and Lachlan Nixon-Smith getting the opportunity to represent their state, alongside experience campaigners such as Steve Brittain, Matt Logan, Jesse Derrick and Ash Evans.”

The 25-man squad will be trimmed to 23 before the game.


2016 Queensland Team

1 Lachlan Nixon-Smith 179 75 Wilston Grange
2 Soul Cormick 178 78 Sandgate
3 Matthew Daniel 185 85 Labrador
4 Fletcher McIvor 182 84 Wilston Grange/Aspley
5 Fraser Pope 179 85 Surfers Paradise
6 Rhys Estall 182 80 Mt Gravatt
7 Josh Woolley 186 81 Palm Beach Currumbin
8 Bill Hicks 180 74 Labrador
9 Matthew Logan 184 92 Morningside
10 Jesse Derrick 189 85 Palm Beach Currumbin
11 Luke Scott 190 89 Western Magpies
12 Ashley Evans 187 84 Morningside
13 Callum Carseldine 179 83 Western Magpies
14 Joseph Dalton 185 85 Morningside
15 Alastair Nash 188 85 Morningside
16 Harrison Fraser 175 75 Surfers Paradise
17 George Hannaford 188 90 University of Queensland
18 Steven Brittain 190 93 Wilston Grange
19 Blake Bantoft 194 98 Labrador
20 Ryley Buntain 193 85 Morningside
21 Jackson Emblem 191 91 Palm Beach Currumbin
22 Daniel Green 179 99 Surfers Paradise
23 Peter Mollison 198 95 Morningside
24 Andrew Smith 196 92 Mt Gravatt
25 Bradie Foster 204 105 Aspley/Wilston Grange


Match Details
Queensland vs. WAAFL
7:00pm, Friday June 3, Leyson Park Yeronga

Masters Exhibition Match
South East Queensland vs. North Queensland
5:10pm, Friday June 3, Leyshon Park Yeronga

By Andrew Wiles

Our Supporters